You're Stronger Than You Know

You're Stronger Than You Know

by James MorrisonJames Morrison


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, April 15


In 2015, after almost quitting music following a string of tragic family losses, English singer/songwriter James Morrison returned with a revitalized, pop-polished comeback. Four years later, he stripped that radio-ready sheen and reverted to an unfussy, rootsy sound on his fifth album, You're Stronger Than You Know. Dropped from his label and processing life's ups and downs, Morrison turned those hardships into hope with this set of soulful guitar anthems that are carried by his passionate, Stevie Wonder-indebted vocals. Overall, the bulk of the album is directed at his partner, with Morrison opening his heart on "So Beautiful" and "Feels Like the First Time," a wedding-perfect gem that could rival Ray Lamontagne's "You Are the Best Thing." Elsewhere, his sentiments are aptly summarized on "My Love Goes On," a standout duet with fellow blue-eyed soulster Joss Stone, and the joyous "Brighter Kind of Love." While much of the first half of the album is designed to spark warm fuzzies and butterflies, Morrison doesn't shy away from the messy, uncertain moments of life. Intense highlight "Slowly" rocks with urgency as he pushes his vocals to the desperate brink. "I Still Need You" finds redemption in love, no matter how difficult the journey has been, with Morrison realizing "life's a little better when you've got someone." Through it all -- as he sings on "Ruins" -- "if we both look straight ahead/then we'll make it out alive." Taking the wisdom from lessons learned in his hitherto thirtysomething years on Earth, Morrison pushes positivity and maturity with this simple and utterly relatable collection. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 03/08/2019
Label: Stanley Park Records
UPC: 0190296915017
catalogNumber: 691501
Rank: 138489

Album Credits

Performance Credits

James Morrison   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Andy Ross   Brass
Faye Simpson   Background Vocals
Adam Phillips   Guitar
Dominic Glover   Brass
Jenny Brown   Background Vocals
Joss Stone   Vocals
Ash Soan   Drums
Rich Milner   Keyboards
Rocco Palladino   Bass

Technical Credits

Martin Brammer   Composer
Gary Barlow   Composer
Jonathan Quarmby   Composer
Steve Mac   Composer
Mike Busbee   Composer
Eg White   Composer
Nina Woodford   Composer
Paul Meehan   Composer
Paul Barry   Composer
James Morrison   Composer
Jon Green   Composer
Fiona Bevan   Composer
Martin Hollis   Engineer
Stephen Robson   Composer
Mark Taylor   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Patrick Mascall   Composer
Josh Breaks   Composer

Customer Reviews