Young in All the Wrong Ways

Young in All the Wrong Ways

by Sara WatkinsSara Watkins


$14.99 $16.99 Save 12% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, June 29


Don't read too much into the title of Young in All the Wrong Ways, Sara Watkins' third solo album. Certainly, the Nickel Creek singer/violinist isn't necessarily acting deliberately youthful here -- the record isn't as brightly pop as its 2012 predecessor, Sun Midnight Sun -- but that doesn't mean that bluegrass factors heavily into the equation either. Young in All the Wrong Ways does make feints to roots music -- if it weren't for the stylishly sculpted fuzz guitar, "The Truth Won't Set Us Free" could be suited for a honky tonk hardwood floor, while "One Last Time" contains some fleet-fingered picking -- but the record feels settled and assured as it leans into its maturation. A large part of its charm lies in its ease. Watkins never is particularly forceful -- she seems to lead from her voice, reveling in its lightness but also letting it bruise when it verges toward heartbreak -- but she's certainly considered, choosing her topics and tempos with care. Young in All the Wrong Ways underscores this sense of craft by accentuating steady, almost thundering, rock rhythms, anxious guitars, and also delicately structured ballads that function as tonic to the bold incidents elsewhere. It's a brief album, ten songs lasting no longer than 41 minutes, but it feels deep due to its nicely shifting sounds and styles, not to mention the sense that Watkins is setting into her own skin here. She's never seemed awkward -- the opposite, really, releasing her first album with Nickel Creek when she was a teenager -- but what makes Young in All the Wrong Ways resonate is how it touches upon her bluegrass and folk roots while feeling entirely different: the work of a musician who is integrating the whole of her influences into an idiosyncratic voice.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/01/2016
Label: New West Records
UPC: 0607396635122
catalogNumber: 6351
Rank: 35269


  1. Young in All the Wrong Ways
  2. The Love That Got Away
  3. One Last Time
  4. Move Me
  5. Like New Year's Day
  6. Say So
  7. Without a Word
  8. The Truth Won't Set Us Free
  9. Invisible
  10. Tenderhearted

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sara Watkins   Primary Artist,Fiddle,Rhythm Guitar,Ukulele,Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Lead
Benmont Tench   Piano,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Jon Brion   Piano,Celeste,Electric Guitar,Mellotron,6-string Electric Bass
Richard Dodd   Cello
Russ Pahl   Pedal Steel Guitar
Tom Peterson   Bass Clarinet,Alto Flute,Baritone Saxophone
Jay Bellerose   Percussion,Drums
Gabe Witcher   Fiddle,Violin,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Viola,Loops,Guitar (12 String Electric),Fender Jazz Bass,Guitar (12 String Acoustic),Bass Harmonica
Sean Watkins   Acoustic Guitar
Jim James   Vocal Harmony
Aoife O'Donovan   Vocal Harmony
Noam Pikelny   Electric Guitar
Chris Eldridge   Acoustic Guitar
Sarah Jarosz   Vocal Harmony
Mary Faber   Vocal Harmony
Tyler Chester   Organ,Mellotron,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Paul Kowert   Double Bass
Mikaela Davis   Harp
Kylie Kempster   Vocal Harmony
Brandon Cervantes   French Horn

Technical Credits

Dave Sinko   Engineer
Dan Wilson   Composer
Mike Piersante   Engineer
Gabe Witcher   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements,Orchestral Arrangements
Sara Watkins   Arranger,Composer
Jon Foreman   Composer
Gordon Hammond   Engineer
Shani Gandhi   Engineer

Customer Reviews