You Smile - The Song Begins

You Smile - The Song Begins

by Herb Alpert & the Tijuana BrassHerb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


His four-year sabbatical over, Herb Alpert returned to the studio creatively refreshed, his trumpet sounding more soulful and thoughtful, his ears attuned more than ever to jazz. The name of his studio group has been shortened to just the initials T.J.B., in whose ranks one hears the familiar mallets of Julius Wechter and the lazy trombone of Bob Edmondson, and the old Mexican flavors still come through now and then. But Alpert was definitely still in a pensive mood, and his evocative self-penned title track and choice of tunes like "Alone Again (Naturally)" and "Save the Sunlight" reinforce the LP's mellow, '70s contemporary pop atmosphere. Even the upbeat remake of the TJB's "Up Cherry Street" is filtered through a phase-shifted gauze, a wistful rose-colored vision of the past. Left over from a 1973 single is a terrific, subtle, Latin-jazz-tinged arrangement of "Last Tango In Paris," with a distinctive orchestral helping hand from Quincy Jones.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/09/2016
Label: Herb Alpert Presents
UPC: 0814647020631
catalogNumber: 70206
Rank: 28920


  1. Fox Hunt
  2. Legend of the One Eyed Sailor
  3. I Can't Go on Living, Baby, Without You
  4. I Might Frighten Her Away
  5. You Smile the Song Begins
  6. Up Cherry Street
  7. Promises, Promises
  8. Save the Sunlight
  9. Dida
  10. Alone Again (Naturally)
  11. Last Tango in Paris
  12. Song for Herb

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass   Primary Artist
Quincy Jones   Strings
Burt Bacharach   Strings
Lani Hall   Voices

Technical Credits

Joan Baez   Composer
Herb Alpert   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Gato Barbieri   Composer
Chuck Mangione   Composer
Julius Wechter   Composer
Jerry Riopelle   Composer
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Nino Tempo   Composer
Buddy Buie   Composer
Hal David   Composer
Gerald Lee   Composer
Larry Levine   Engineer
Gilbert O'Sullivan   Composer
Roger Nicholas   Composer
Roland Young   Art Direction
Brian Porizek   Cover Art
James B. Cobb   Composer

Customer Reviews