You Don't Know Me: Rediscovering Eddy Arnold

You Don't Know Me: Rediscovering Eddy Arnold


$16.66 $16.99 Save 2% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $16.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 13


Eddy Arnold had an amazing career. He recorded his first single in 1945, charted 147 songs, 28 of which were number one hits, released over 100 albums, and sold over 85 million records. Over a stretch from 1947 through 1948 he outsold the entire pop division at his label RCA Records, owning the number one song at the top of the country charts for an astounding 60 straight weeks in 1948 (he only missed the top for two weeks in November that year), and no other recording artist has lodged Top Ten hits in seven straight decades. And he did all this without much fanfare, without wearing Nudie suits or big hats, without drinking binges or drug problems, and if there was a steadier or more consistent artist in the modern recording era, well, there really isn't. Yet Arnold is largely unknown to contemporary music fans a decade-and-change into the 21st century, while his contemporary for a time, Hank Williams, is revered and namechecked constantly. Williams deserves his accolades and adoration, of course, but Arnold, whose smooth, string-sweetened Nashville sound was at the other end of the scale from Williams, deserves it as well. Between the two of them, these two artists set the end poles for the template of modern country music. This striking tribute, set in motion by Arnold's grandson R. Shannon Pollard, himself a musician, and produced by Cheetah Chrome (with Don Cusic), features all manner of contemporary artists, from Frank Black to Peter Noone (yes, the Herman's Hermits guy), taking turns at interpreting songs from Arnold's vast catalog. Not everything works, of course, but most of it does, like Bobby Bare, Jr.'s warm take on "Make the World Go Away," Mary Gauthier's wonderful rendition of "You Don't Know Me," Jason Ringenberg's cow punk and rockabilly-laced "Texarkana Baby," Drivin' N' Cryin's beautiful version of "Wreck of the Old 97," and Jason Isbell's moving "Johnny Reb, That's Me," arguably the best moment here. It adds up to a fine testament to Arnold's work and legacy. He passed in 2008 and there certainly won't be another like him.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/04/2013
Label: Plowboy
UPC: 0092145178829
catalogNumber: 1003
Rank: 213440

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Peter Noone   Vocals
Sylvain Sylvain   Vocals
Dan Baird   Acoustic Guitar,Bass
Glen Duncan   Mandolin
Ralph Carney   Horn
Frank Black   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Harold Bradley   Acoustic Guitar
John Catchings   Cello
Cheetah Chrome   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Ken Coomer   Drums
Alejandro Escovedo   Vocals
John Hobbs   Piano
Robert Kearns   Bass
Steve Patrick   Trumpet
Andy Reiss   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jason Ringenberg   Vocals
Denis Solee   Saxophone
Matt Swanson   Bass
Reese Wynans   Hammond B3
Joe Blanton   Vocals
Charlie McCoy   Harmonica
Chris Searles   Drums
Mandy Barnett   Vocals
Kurt Wagner   Guitar,Vocals
Bebe Buell   Vocals
Chuck Mead   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Tony Crow   Piano
Melinda Doolittle   Vocals
Reid Paley   Acoustic Guitar
Mary Gauthier   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Dave V. Johnson   Drums
Matt Glassmeyer   Saxophone
Bobby Bare   Vocals
Carco Clave   Pedal Steel Guitar
Chris Scruggs   Acoustic Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Hand Clapping,Lap Steel Guitar
Jason Isbell   Guitar,Vocals
John McTigue   Drums
Doni Schroader   Drums
Robert Daniel   Bass
Marco Giovino   Drums
Brad Albin   Bass
Ryan Norris   Acoustic Guitar
Sadler Vaden   Electric Guitar
Scott Martin   Drums
David Vandervelde   Electric Guitar
Micah Hulscher   Organ,Piano
Pokey LaFarge   Guitar,Vocals
Brad Pemberton   Drums
Pete Mroz   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Jeff Taylor   Accordion
Amanda Shires   Fiddle
Warner E. Hodges   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Dave Roe   Bass,Vocals
Matt Rowland   Hammond B3
William White   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Tim Neilsen   Bass
Tai Welch   Piano
Levn Kinney   Vocals
Courtney Tidwell   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Eddy Arnold   Composer
Chet Atkins   Composer
Zeb Turner   Composer
Cindy Walker   Composer
Owen Bradley   Composer
Boudleaux Bryant   Composer
Cheetah Chrome   Producer,Liner Notes
Hank Cochran   Composer
Bob Hilliard   Composer
Paul Klein   Composer
Mark Nevers   Engineer
Fred Rose   Composer
Tex Owens   Composer
Zeke Clements   Composer
Henry Whitter   Composer
Fred Ebb   Composer
Herbert "Happy" Lawson   Composer
Vic McAlpin   Composer
Roy Bodkin   Composer
Don Cusic   Producer,Liner Notes
Thomas Dilbeck   Composer
Wally Fowler   Composer
Cottonseed Clark   Composer
Charles W. Noell   Composer
Bill C. Graham   Composer
Adam Taylor   Engineer
Fred Lewey   Composer
J. Graydon Hall   Composer
Steve Nelson   Composer
Luke Gilfeather   Engineer
R. Shannon Pollard   Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Jenny Lou Carson   Composer

Customer Reviews