You Are Not Alone

You Are Not Alone

by Mavis StaplesMavis Staples


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 21


When Jeff Tweedy and Rock and Roll Hall of Famer and legend Mavis Staples sat down to talk about what they wanted the new Mavis Staples album to sound like, they both turned to the original spiritual roots of the Staples Singers as a backbone. Both wanted to make a record about connection, about reaching out to someone through the power of music. What they achieved is possibly the album of Staples career, a warm, powerful and fervent collection of brilliantly chosen and interpreted songs.

Produced by fellow Chicagoan Jeff Tweedy at Wilco's studio The Loft, the intimate and textured production mixes traditional gospel numbers with two new songs written for Mavis by Tweedy, plus her unique interpretations of songs by Pops Staples, Randy Newman, Allen Toussaint, John Fogerty, Rev. Gary Davis, and Little Milton.

Backed by Mavis's smoking touring band and featuring guest turns from Tweedy and Wilco's Patrick Sansone, with background vocals by Kelly Hogan and Nora O'Connor, the album cradles Mavis's exquisite voice, allowing her to stretch out emotionally on tracks like Randy Newman's "Losing You" and the Creedence Clearwater chesnut "Wrote a Song For Everyone."

The two songs Jeff wrote for Mavis also meld seamlessly into the vibe and theme of the album: "He would listen to my conversations, my words, and then feed off that... The songs he wrote take me places I wouldn't normally go," says Mavis. Sure to be one of the best-received releases of 2010, Mavis's message of joy and redemption has found the setting it has always deserved. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 09/14/2010
Label: Anti
UPC: 0045778707621
catalogNumber: 87076
Rank: 7653


  1. Don't Knock
  2. You Are Not Alone
  3. Downward Road
  4. In Christ There is No East or West
  5. Creep Along Moses
  6. Losing You
  7. I Belong To the Band
  8. Last Train
  9. Only the Lord Knows
  10. Wrote a Song For Everyone
  11. We're Gonna Make It
  12. Wonderful Savior
  13. Too Close/On My Way To Heaven

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mavis Staples   Primary Artist
Donny Gerrard   Vocals
Stephen Hodges   Percussion,Drums
Kelly Hogan   Background Vocals
Rick Holmstrom   Guitar,Background Vocals
Jeff Tweedy   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Background Vocals,Fuzz Guitar
Nora O'Connor   Background Vocals
Pat Sansone   Organ,Piano,Celeste,Tambourine,Background Vocals,Mellotron,Vibes,Wurlitzer
Jeff Turmes   Bass,Guitar,Background Vocals
Richard Parenti   Background Vocals
Mark Greenberg   Celeste,Vibes

Technical Credits

John Fogerty   Composer
Randy Newman   Composer
Gene Barge   Composer
Roebuck "Pops" Staples   Composer
Rev. Gary Davis   Composer
Mavis Staples   Arranger
Allen Toussaint   Composer
Jeff Tweedy   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Raynard Miner   Composer
Tom Schick   Engineer
Billy Davis   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Jason Tobias   Engineer
Carl William Smith   Composer
Alex Bradford   Composer

Customer Reviews