by Def LeppardDef Leppard




People usually slip under the covers for one of two reasons -- to seek out comfort or to get a little frisky. There's a bit of both going on in this good-humored, cleverly conceived disc, which turns the metal vets loose on a set of tunes that range from the predictable to the provocative -- a three-decades-on, metal-flaked rejoinder to David Bowie's Pin-Ups. When the quintet takes on songs by artists with whom they share roots -- like Faces' "Stay with Me" or T Rex's "20th Century Boy"-- they play pretty much strictly by the book, with Joe Elliott shaping his supple voice to match the tones of the original singer. There's nothing wrong with that approach, of course, and the energy they pour into a faithful rendition of Mott the Hoople's underappreciated "Golden Age of Rock & Roll" is contagious enough to get listeners to work up a sweat. Yeah! really takes off, however, when the band venture a bit outside those glam-slam confines -- as on a ringing, rousing take on Blondie's power-pop classic "Hanging on the Telephone," which bounces along with a sweetness not normally associated with the Lep. Even better is the vintage-sounding take on Brit one-hit wonder John Kongo's "He's Gonna Step On You Again," which pulses with the sort of candy-coated menace that was once a staple of AM radio. Not everything works -- the overamped version of the Kinks' "Waterloo Sunset" strips that song of all its emotional impact -- but the mere fact that the band are letting their hair down makes it easy for the listener to do the same, and have some good, clean (or, in some cases, not-so-clean) fun.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/23/2006
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0602498323113
catalogNumber: 000534002

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Def Leppard   Primary Artist
Ian Hunter   Master of Ceremonies
John Campbell   Saxophone
Vivian Campbell   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals,Noise,Slide Guitar,Soloist,Group Member
Phil Collen   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Noise,Soloist,Group Member
Joe Elliott   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Emm Gryner   Piano,Background Vocals
Ronan McHugh   Conductor,Mellotron
Rick Allen   Drums,Group Member
Kristine Elliott   Background Vocals
Stepaside Symphonia   Strings
Anita Thomas Collen   Background Vocals
Stevie Vann Lange   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

David Bowie   Composer
David Essex   Composer
Bryan Ferry   Composer
Ian Hunter   Composer
Jeff Lynne   Composer
Paul Rodgers   Composer
Rod Stewart   Composer
Ronnie Wood   Composer
Andy Fraser   Composer
John Kongos   Composer
Paul Kossoff   Composer
Phil Lynott   Composer
Marc Bolan   Composer
Ray Davies   Composer
Nicky Chinn   Composer
Phil Collen   Loop
Joe Elliott   Art Direction
Pete Ham   Composer
Simon Kirke   Composer
Christos Demetriou   Composer
Ronan McHugh   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Malvin Mortimer   Guitar Techician

Customer Reviews