Wyst: Alastor 1716

Wyst: Alastor 1716

by Jack Vance


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


The Connatic rules the three thousand inhabited planets of the Alastor Cluster from his palace Lusz on the world Numenes. Though his military force can bring considerable might to bear where necessary, the Connatic often wanders among his subjects incognito, intervening to right a wrong, or leaving well enough alone.

For a century, the people of Arrabus on the planet Wyst have lived by the Egalistic Manifold, in a society which minimizes toil but guarantees adequate food and shelter to all. Jantiff Ravensroke performs the required thirteen hours of 'drudge' per week, experiencing the frivolity that otherwise characterizes Arrabin existence-but discovers a conspiracy to control the wealth of Arrabus, and threaten the life of the Connatic himself.

With unerring insight into human nature, world-builder Jack Vance tells a story of treachery and intrigue, in one of his most controversial works.

Wyst is Book II in the Alastor sequence, and Volume 48 of the Spatterlight Press Signature Series.Released in the centenary of the author's birth, this handsome new collectionis based upon the prestigious Vance Integral Edition. Select volumes enjoyup-to-date maps, and many are graced with freshly-written forewords contributedby a distinguished group of authors. Each book bears a facsimile of theauthor's signature and a previously-unpublished photograph, chosen from family archives for the period the book was written. These uniquefeatures will be appreciated by all, from seasoned Vance collector to new reader sampling the spectrum of this author's influential work forthe first time. - John Vance II

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781619471177
Publisher: Spatterlight Press
Publication date: 12/18/2016
Series: Alastor , #2
Pages: 250
Sales rank: 1,207,496
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.57(d)

About the Author

California native Jack Vance (1916-2013) was one of the greats of science fiction. He was the author of dozens of sci-fi books and fantasy novels, including the popular Lyonesse and Dying Earth series and the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning book The Last Castle. In 1997, he was honored as a Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America. He died in Oakland, California.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews