by Sarah McLachlanSarah McLachlan


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


For Wonderland, her 2016 seasonal set, Sarah McLachlan takes the opposite tactic than she did for Wintersong, the idiosyncratic holiday album she delivered ten years earlier. That record found the Canadian singer/songwriter exploring songs that were tangentially related to the holiday season, joining Joni Mitchell's "River," Gordon Lightfoot's "Song for a Winter's Night," and Vince Guaraldi's Peanuts theme "Christmas Time Is Here" with a few standards, plus her original title song. Wonderland, in contrast, is nothing but holiday favorites, split evenly between traditional carols and secular tunes. Material-wise, the only curveball here is "Huron Carol," which is a Canadian hymn, and the arrangements are hazily familiar: soft and airy, carrying a bit of Baroque atmosphere but also a fireside coziness. That sense of warmth also differentiates it from Wintersong, an album that could favor the austere, and that also makes it an ideal record for snowy December nights. It's classy and comforting, music that sets a mood and drifts into the background, the kind of Christmas album that's designed to be a holiday perennial.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/21/2016
Label: Verve
UPC: 0602557044430
catalogNumber: 002537302
Rank: 27704


  1. The Christmas Song
  2. Angels We Have Heard on High
  3. Let It Snow
  4. White Christmas
  5. O Come All Ye Faithful
  6. Go Tell It on the Mountain
  7. Away in a Manger
  8. Winter Wonderland
  9. Huron Carol
  10. Silver Bells
  11. O Holy Night

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sarah McLachlan   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Ukulele,Vocals
Emmylou Harris   Vocals
Pierre Marchand   Piano,Keyboards
Ashwin Sood   Percussion,Drums
Martha Wainwright   Vocals
Michel Pepin   Guitar
Philippe Leduc   Upright Bass
William Cote   Drums
Yves Desrosiers   Electric Guitar,Ukulele
Bulgarian Symphony Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Deyan Pavlov   Conductor
Devon Portielje   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Hand Clapping,Foot Stomping
Conner Molander   Bass,Guitar,Harmonium,Vocals,Hand Clapping,Foot Stomping
Dylan Phillips   Drums,Vocals,Hand Clapping,Foot Stomping
Isaac Symonds   Bass,Drums,Vocals,Hand Clapping,Foot Stomping
Vince May   Trumpet
Jérome Beaulieu   Piano

Technical Credits

Irving Berlin   Composer
Felix Bernard   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Ray Evans   Composer
Jay Livingston   Composer
Pierre Marchand   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Buddy Miller   Engineer
Jule Styne   Composer
Robert Wells   Composer
Michel Pepin   Engineer
Todd Gallopo   Art Direction
Traditional   Composer
Brian Byrne   Orchestral Arrangements,Recording Producer
Mel Torment   Composer
Richard B. Smith   Composer
Vladislav Boyadjiev   Scoring Engineer

Customer Reviews