Wonder of You: Elvis Presley with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra [Bonus Track]

Wonder of You: Elvis Presley with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra [Bonus Track]

by Royal Philharmonic OrchestraRoyal Philharmonic Orchestra


$14.64 $14.99 Save 2% Current price is $14.64, Original price is $14.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, June 29


The Wonder of You is a sequel in the truest sense: it delivers more of the same thing that made the 2015 album If I Can Dream into a surprise hit around the globe. The gimmick behind both of the albums is taking original Elvis Presley vocal performances and setting them to brand-new orchestral arrangements from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. The Wonder of You isn't as splashy as its predecessor, lacking duets with Michael Bublé and Il Volo (the bonus track, "Just Pretend," does feature Helene Fischer), and it also doesn't contain quite as many rockers as If I Can Dream. All this means The Wonder of You is thoroughly middlebrow, largely consisting of ballads and soft pop tunes, all given pompous pops arrangements. Occasionally, the new versions aren't too far away from the originals -- usually, this would be for such '70s Vegas showstoppers as "I Just Can't Help Believin'" -- but there's still a disconnect between Presley's vocal performances and the cheerfully cheesy orchestrations, particularly on numbers like "Kentucky Rain" and "Suspicious Minds," recordings that benefited from the interaction of Elvis and the musicians in Chips Moman's American Sound Studio. To the creators of The Wonder of You, all that matters is the power of Presley's performance, which the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra accentuates. It, like If I Can Dream, is executed well -- the separation between the old tapes and new performance is seamless. ["Just Pretend" was added as a bonus track.]

Product Details

Release Date: 10/21/2016
Label: Rca
UPC: 0889853622429
catalogNumber: 536224
Rank: 31475


  1. A Big Hunk o' Love
  2. I've Got a Thing About You Baby
  3. Suspicious Minds
  4. Don't
  5. I Just Can't Help Believin'
  6. Just Pretend
  7. Love Letters
  8. Amazing Grace
  9. Starting Today
  10. Kentucky Rain
  11. Memories
  12. Let It Be Me
  13. Always on My Mind
  14. The Wonder of You
  15. Just Pretend

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra   Primary Artist,Performing Ensemble
Floyd Cramer   Piano
Imperials   Background Vocals
Jordanaires   Background Vocals
Elvis Presley   Bass
Lance Ellington   Vocals,Background Vocals
Bill Black   Bass
James Burton   Guitar,Soloist
Dennis Linde   Guitar
Scotty Moore   Guitar
Sweet Inspirations   Background Vocals
Sandy Posey   Background Vocals
Joe Babcock   Vocals,Background Vocals
Dudley Brooks   Piano
Glen D. Hardin   Piano
Dolores Edgin   Background Vocals
D.J. Fontana   Drums
Simon Gardner   Trumpet
Nigel Hitchcock   Alto Saxophone
Ginger Holladay   Vocals,Background Vocals
Mary Holladay   Vocals,Background Vocals
Millie Kirkham   Background Vocals
Sonja Montgomery   Vocals
June Page   Vocals,Background Vocals
Nick Patrick   Percussion,Keyboards
Steve Pearce   Bass
Susan Pilkington   Vocals,Background Vocals
Don Reedman   Guitar,Percussion
Temple Riser   Vocals
Ralph Salmins   Drums
Steve Sidwell   Conductor
Robin Smith   Conductor
Paul Spong   Trumpet
J.D. Sumner   Background Vocals
Jamie Talbot   Tenor Saxophone
Tommy Tedesco   Guitar
Donna Thatcher   Vocals,Background Vocals
Reggie Young   Guitar
Stamps   Background Vocals
Kathy Westmoreland   Background Vocals
Nigel Barr   Bass Trombone
Charlie McCoy   Organ
Mary Greene   Background Vocals
Andy Caine   Vocals,Background Vocals
J.D. Sumner & the Stamps   Background Vocals
John Parricelli   Guitar
Andy Wood   Trombone
David Bishop   Baritone Saxophone
Ben Castle   Tenor Saxophone
Pete Murray   Piano
Miriam Grey   Vocals,Background Vocals
Andrew Playfoot   Vocals,Background Vocals
Ryan Quigley   Trumpet
Shena Winchester   Vocals,Background Vocals
Mary Green   Vocals,Background Vocals
David Briggs   Organ
Jochem van der Saag   Organ
Alistair White   Trombone
Hurshel Wiginton   Vocals,Background Vocals
Phoebe Street   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Mac Davis   Composer
Eddie Rabbitt   Composer
Elvis Presley   Arranger,Adaptation
Gilbert Bécaud   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Barry Mann   Composer
Tony Joe White   Composer
Billy Strange   Composer
Don Robertson   Composer
Mark James   Composer
Johnny Christopher   Composer
Manny Curtis   Composer
Pierre Delanoë   Composer
Edward Heyman   Composer
Nick Patrick   Programming,Producer
Don Reedman   Programming,Producer,Executive Producer
Aaron Schroeder   Composer
Steve Sidwell   String Arrangements,Brass Arrangment
Robin Smith   String Arrangements,String Samples
Mike Stoller   Composer
Cynthia Weil   Composer
Victor Young   Composer
Doug Flett   Composer
Chris Walden   Orchestral Arrangements
Wayne Carson Thompson   Composer
Alex Christensen   Vocal Producer
Tom Burleigh   Direction
Priscilla Presley   Executive Producer
Baker Knight   Composer
Dick Heard   Composer
Jochem van der Saag   Arranger,Producer,Sound Design
Peter Schwier   Engineer
Peter Könemann   Vocal Producer
Faye Donaldson   Direction
William J. Gaither   Composer
Guy Fletcher   Composer
Johnathan Elliott   Artwork
Sid Wyche   Composer

Customer Reviews