Pub. Date:
Wonder of You: Elvis Presley with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra [LP]

Wonder of You: Elvis Presley with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra [LP]

by Royal Philharmonic OrchestraRoyal Philharmonic Orchestra

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 30


The Wonder of You is a sequel in the truest sense: it delivers more of the same thing that made the 2015 album If I Can Dream into a surprise hit around the globe. The gimmick behind both of the albums is taking original Elvis Presley vocal performances and setting them to brand-new orchestral arrangements from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. The Wonder of You isn't as splashy as its predecessor, lacking duets with Michael Bublé and Il Volo (the bonus track, "Just Pretend," does feature Helene Fischer), and it also doesn't contain quite as many rockers as If I Can Dream. All this means The Wonder of You is thoroughly middlebrow, largely consisting of ballads and soft pop tunes, all given pompous pops arrangements. Occasionally, the new versions aren't too far away from the originals -- usually, this would be for such '70s Vegas showstoppers as "I Just Can't Help Believin'" -- but there's still a disconnect between Presley's vocal performances and the cheerfully cheesy orchestrations, particularly on numbers like "Kentucky Rain" and "Suspicious Minds," recordings that benefited from the interaction of Elvis and the musicians in Chips Moman's American Sound Studio. To the creators of The Wonder of You, all that matters is the power of Presley's performance, which the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra accentuates. It, like If I Can Dream, is executed well -- the separation between the old tapes and new performance is seamless. [The Wonder of You was also released on LP.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 12/02/2016
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0889853622610
catalogNumber: 536226
Rank: 33769


Disc 1

  1. A Big Hunk o' Love
  2. I've Got a Thing About You Baby
  3. Suspicious Minds
  4. Don't
  5. I Just Can't Help Believin'
  6. Just Pretend
  7. Love Letters

Disc 2

  1. Amazing Grace
  2. Starting Today
  3. Kentucky Rain
  4. Memories
  5. Let It Be Me
  6. Always on My Mind
  7. The Wonder of You
  8. Just Pretend

Album Credits

Customer Reviews