B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
With the North Carolina Ramblers and the Highlanders

With the North Carolina Ramblers and the Highlanders

by Charlie Poole Charlie Poole


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, July 6


Charlie Poole wasn't a particularly brilliant banjo player (although his later three-finger-style picking would set the table for the advent of bluegrass banjo a couple of decades after his death), and he wasn't the world's greatest vocalist either, but he had a certain devil-may-care charisma that made him a superstar in the string band era of the 1920s. Poole's greatest talent -- aside from an ability to go on long drinking sprees and to manage to be at the center of things even in his absence -- was in his song adaptations, which drew from sources outside the standard Appalachian fiddle tunes and reels, including pop, ragtime, and blues. This extensive 96-track, four-disc box set from Britain's JSP Records collects the lion's share of his recordings on Columbia, Poole's label from 1925 until his death in 1931 at the age of 39. Also included are a handful of cuts Poole made under the table for Paramount (where his North Carolina Ramblers were called the Highlanders) and Brunswick (which saw the band disguised as the Allegheny Highlanders). Working at various times with fiddlers Posey Rorer, Lonnie Austin, and Odell Smith, and usually with guitarist Roy Harvey, Poole favored loose-limbed arrangements of songs like "Leaving Home" (a version of the timeless "Frankie and Johnny"), "White House Blues" (a brilliant song about the 1901 assassination of President McKinley),"Shootin' Creek" (a North Carolina variant on "Cripple Creek"), "Ramblin' Blues" (a reworking of W.C. Handy's "Beale Street Blues"), and "If the River Was Whiskey" (which grafted Sleepy John Estes' "Diving Duck Blues" to Handy's "Hesitation Blues"), producing a body of songs unlike any other in the mountain string band tradition. That most of these songs dealt with drinking and carousing with a certain reckless blues edge was telling, since Poole's heart eventually gave out after a long, last multi-week drinking binge, a rock star-styled death for a man who lived life in a headlong rush. Nearly a hundred songs might be too much for the casual listener, but serious fans of the string band genre and Poole's unique contribution to it will welcome this generous set.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/25/2005
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065773427
catalogNumber: 7734
Rank: 106588


Disc 1

  1. The Girl I Left in Sunny Tennessee
  2. I'm the Man That Rode the Mule Around the World
  3. Can I Sleep in Your Barn Tonight Mister
  4. Don't Let Your Deal Go Down Blues
  5. Flyin' Clouds
  6. Wild Horse
  7. Forks of Sandy
  8. Mountain Reel
  9. Goodbye Booze
  10. Monkey on a String
  11. The Brave Engineer
  12. Too Young to Marry
  13. Ragtime Annie
  14. Leaving Home
  15. Budded Rose
  16. There'll Come a Time
  17. White House Blues
  18. The Highwayman
  19. Hungry Hash House
  20. If I Lose, I Don't Care
  21. You Ain't Talkin' to Me
  22. From Tennessee
  23. The Letter That Never Came
  24. Falling by the Wayside

Disc 2

  1. Take a Drink on Me
  2. Sunset March
  3. The Wreck of the Virginian No. 3
  4. Don't Let Your Deal Go Down Medley
  5. Please Papa Come Home
  6. The Old Clay Pipe
  7. Write a Letter to My Mother
  8. Poor Little Joe
  9. We Will Outshine the Sun
  10. Walking on the Streets of Glory
  11. I Cannot Call Her Mother
  12. Pearl Bryant
  13. Take Back the Ring
  14. Give My Love to Nell
  15. My Mother and My Sweetheart
  16. She Is Only a Bird in a Gilded Cage
  17. Bill Mason
  18. Kitty Blye
  19. I'm Glad I'm Married
  20. Sweet Sunny South
  21. Blue Eyes
  22. The Bluefield Murder
  23. I'll Be There Mary Dear
  24. What Is Home Without Love
  25. There'll Come a Time

Disc 3

  1. George Collins
  2. As We Parted at the Gate
  3. There's a Mother Old and Gray Who Needs Me Now
  4. Sweet Refrain
  5. Budded Roses
  6. Take Me Back to Home and Mother
  7. A Young Boy Left His Home One Day
  8. My Wife Went Away and Left Me
  9. I Once Loved a Sailor
  10. Husband and Wife Were Angry One Night
  11. Ramblin' Blues
  12. Took My Gal A-Walkin'
  13. What Is Home Without Babies
  14. Jealous Mary
  15. Old and Only in the Way
  16. Shootin' Creek
  17. Bill Mason
  18. Goodbye Mary Dear
  19. Leaving Dear Old Ireland
  20. Baltimore Fire
  21. Sweet Sunny South
  22. He Rambled

Disc 4

  1. Under the Double Eagle
  2. Richmond Square
  3. Flop Eared Mule
  4. Lynchburg Town
  5. San Antonio
  6. What Is a Home Without Babies
  7. Tennessee Blues
  8. May I Sleep in Your Barn Tonight Mister
  9. A Trip to New York, Pt. 1: On the Train
  10. A Trip to New York, Pt. 2: The Audition
  11. A Trip to New York, Pt. 3: In New York
  12. A Trip to New York, Pt. 4: In the Studio
  13. Sweet Sixteen
  14. My Gypsy Girl
  15. The Only Girl I Ever Loved
  16. Write a Letter to My Mother
  17. If the River Was Whiskey
  18. It's Movin' Day
  19. Southern Medley
  20. Honeysuckle
  21. Goodbye Sweet Liza Jane
  22. Look Before You Leap
  23. Just Keep Waiting Till the Good Time Comes
  24. Milwaukee Blues
  25. Where the Whipoorwill Is Whispering Goodnight

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Charlie Poole   Primary Artist,Banjo,Vocals,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Roy Harvey   Guitar,Vocals,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Posey Rorer   Fiddle
Lonnie Austin   Fiddle,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Norman Woodlief   Guitar
Odell Smith   Fiddle,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Bob Hoke   Mandolin,Vocals
Lucy Terry   Piano

Technical Credits

W.C. Handy   Composer
Charles K. Harris   Composer
Charlie Poole   Composer
Andrew B. Sterling   Composer
Harry Von Tilzer   Composer
Ren Shields   Composer
Tin Pan Alley   Composer
S. Brooks   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Pat Harrison   Liner Notes
George Evans   Composer

Customer Reviews