by The Jimi Hendrix Experience, Jimi HendrixThe Jimi Hendrix Experience

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Winterland is drawn from six stellar shows recorded over three days (October 10, 11 and 12, 1968) at San Francisco's historic Winterland Ballroom. These special performances celebrated the two year anniversary of the Jimi Hendrix Experience and came just as the groundbreaking album Electric Ladyland was released.

Winterland presents some of Hendrix’s most spectacular guitar work and is filled with rare live versions of classic songs such as "Manic Depression," "Are You Experienced?," "Tax Free," and "Little Wing" that are not part of any other Sony Legacy release. Fans will also enjoy Hendrix’s dramatic interpretations of Cream’s "Sunshine Of Your Love" and Howlin’ Wolf’s "Killing Floor" [with the Experience joined by Jefferson Airplane bassist Jack Casady] as well his rendition of Bob Dylan’s "Like A Rolling Stone," which has been selected as the lead track for this special release.

This special deluxe box set features never before released music from each of the six unforgettable Winterland performances. The new standard and deluxe editions of Winterland are markedly different from a single disc compilation, long out of print, that was briefly issued by Rykodisc in 1987 and 1988.

The deluxe edition also presents a rare interview with Hendrix recorded backstage at the Boston Garden a few weeks after the Winterland performances. This previously unreleased bonus provides fans with a unique window into Hendrix’s views about his background, his approach to the guitar and songwriting and future direction of his music.

The deluxe edition also features a 36 page booked filled with previously unpublished images by acclaimed photographers Robert Knight, Allen Tannenbaum and Jim Marshall as well as an essay by noted Rolling Stone journalist David Fricke. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 09/13/2011
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886979342514
catalogNumber: 793425


Disc 1

  1. Tax Free
  2. Lover Man
  3. Sunshine of Your Love
  4. Hear My Train A-Comin'

Disc 2

  1. Killing Floor
  2. Foxey Lady
  3. Hey Joe
  4. Star Spangled Banner
  5. Purple Haze

Disc 3

  1. Tax Free
  2. Like a Rolling Stone
  3. Lover Man
  4. Hey Joe
  5. Fire
  6. Foxey Lady

Disc 4

  1. Are You Experienced
  2. Red House
  3. Purple Haze

Disc 5

  1. Fire
  2. Lover Man
  3. Like a Rolling Stone
  4. Manic Depression
  5. Sunshine of Your Love
  6. Little Wing

Disc 6

  1. Spanish Castle Magic
  2. Red House
  3. Hey Joe
  4. Purple Haze
  5. Wild Thing

Disc 7

  1. Foxey Lady
  2. Voodoo Child (Slight Return) [Live 10/10/68 1st Show, Winterland, San F
  3. Red House

Disc 8

  1. Are You Experienced [Live 10/10/68 1st Show, Winterland, San Francisco,
  2. Star Spangled Banner
  3. Purple Haze
  4. Boston Garden Backstage Interview

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews