Willy Vlautin Collection

Willy Vlautin Collection

by Willy Vlautin

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


A collection of four novels by award-winning author Willy Vlautin.

The Motel Life explores the frustration and failed dreams of two brothers on the run after a hit-and-run accident.  Northline follows a young woman who, haunted by the mistakes of her past, flees Las Vegas for Reno, intent on making a new life for herself. In Lean on Pete, a newly orphaned fifteen—year-old boy struggling to make his way befriends a failing race horse and together they go on a journey to find a long lost relative who just might give him a home. In The Free, the lives of three memorable characters--a nurse, an Iraqi war vet, and a father--intersect as they confront issues including the cost of health care, the lack of economic opportunities, and the devastating scars of war as they look for meaning in distressing times.

Through these novels, this "major realist talent" (Seattle Post-Intelligencer) illuminate the disquiet of modern American life captured through the experiences of ordinary people in difficult times, and provides a testament to the resiliency of the human heart.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062392909
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 11/11/2014
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,049,331
File size: 7 MB

About the Author

Willy Vlautin is the author of several novels including, The Motel Life which has been made into a movie starring Dakota Fanning, Emile Hersh, and Stephen Dorff; Northline; Lean on Pete which won two Oregon Book Awards; and Don’t Skip Out on Me, a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner award. He is the singer and songwriter of the band Richmond Fontaine and a member of the band The Delines. He lives outside Portland, Oregon.

Customer Reviews