The Will to Climb: Obsession and Commitment and the Quest to Climb Annapurna--the World's Deadliest Peak

The Will to Climb: Obsession and Commitment and the Quest to Climb Annapurna--the World's Deadliest Peak

by Ed Viesturs, David Roberts


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The bestselling author of The Mountain and No Shortcuts to the Top chronicles his three attempts to climb the world's tenth-highest and statistically deadliest peak while exploring the dramatic and tragic history of others who have madeor attemptedthe ascent

As a high school student, Ed Viesturs read and was captivated by the French climber Maurice Herzog's famous and grisly account of the first ascent of Annapurna in 1950. When he began his own campaign to climb the world's 14 highest peaks in the late 1980s, Viesturs looked forward with trepidation to undertaking Annapurna himself. Two failures to summit in 2000 and 2002 made Annapurna his nemesis. His successful 2005 ascent was the triumphant capstone of his climbing quest.

In The Will to Climb Viesturs and co-author David Roberts bring the extraordinary challenges of Annapurna to vivid life through edge-of-your-seat accounts of the greatest climbs in the mountain’s history, and of his own failed attempts and eventual success.  In the process Viesturs ponders what Annapurna reveals about some of our most fundamental moral and spiritual questions—questions, he believes, that we need to answer to lead our lives well.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780307720436
Publisher: Crown Publishing Group
Publication date: 10/23/2012
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 440,483
Product dimensions: 5.26(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.68(d)

About the Author

ED VIESTURS is the first and only American to ascend all fourteen of the world’s 8,000-meter peaks without supplemental oxygen and the author of The Mountain, No Shortcuts to the Top, and K2. 

In addition to his collaborations with Ed Viesturs, DAVID ROBERTS is the author of more than twenty books, including Finding Everett Ruess.

Table of Contents

Foreword, by Roger Goodell, Commissioner of the National Football         League           
         Chapter One: The Brick Wall       
         Chapter Two: A New and Splendid Life      
         Chapter Three: South Face          
         Chapter Four: So Close to the Dead                
         Chapter Five: The Door to the Land of the Living        
         Chapter Six: Messner and Kukuczka              
         Chapter Seven: Comet on Annapurna             
         Chapter Eight: My Annapurna      
         Epilogue: Goddess of the Harvests         

Customer Reviews