Will the Circle Be Unbroken [Bonus Tracks]

Will the Circle Be Unbroken [Bonus Tracks]

by The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Norman Blake, Earl Scruggs The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
Will the Circle Be Unbroken [Bonus Tracks]

Will the Circle Be Unbroken [Bonus Tracks]

by The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Norman Blake, Earl Scruggs The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band


$20.99 $29.99 Save 30% Current price is $20.99, Original price is $29.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 7


Not to take anything away from the deserved success of O Brother, Where Art Thou?, but the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band were there first -- in 1972 -- accompanying a staggering assembly of bluegrass and traditional country giants on Will the Circle Be Unbroken, which featured songs associated with the Carter Family, Roy Acuff, Merle Travis, and Jimmy Martin. Earl Scruggs sat in on banjo and took the lead on two of his own originals, "Flint Hill Special" and "Earl's Breakdown," plus the traditional instrumental "Soldier's Joy." Also on hand were Mother Maybelle Carter, fiddler Vassar Clements, guitarists Norman Blake and Randy Scruggs (Earl's son), Dobro player Pete "Oswald" Kirby, bassist Junior Huskey, and Doc Watson, who sang and picked. This Hall of Fame cast produced a powerful, exciting, and durable album. Highlights include Mother Maybelle's plain, potent voice packing an emotional punch on "I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes," Acuff's soul-piercing cry on "I Saw the Light," Travis's slick pickin' and genial vocal on his "Nine Pound Hammer," Clements's searing fiddle work on "Lonesome Fiddle Blues," and Watson being his irrepressible self, vocally and instrumentally, on the rollicking "Way Downtown." The studio banter -- particularly Acuff's -- is priceless. Will the Circle Be Unbroken is even more of a landmark than O Brother, and its long-overdue release on CD is not merely a welcome arrival but a spiritual blessing.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/26/2002
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724353514822
catalogNumber: 35148
Rank: 3635


Disc 1

  1. Grand Ole Opry Song
  2. Keep on the Sunny Side
  3. Nashville Blues
  4. You Are My Flower
  5. The Precious Jewel
  6. Dark as a Dungeon
  7. Tennessee Stud
  8. Black Mountain Rag
  9. The Wreck on the Highway
  10. The End of the World
  11. I Saw the Light
  12. Sunny Side of the Mountain
  13. Nine Pound Hammer
  14. Losin' You (Might Be the Best Thing Yet)
  15. Honky Tonkin'
  16. You Don't Know My Mind
  17. My Walkin' Shoes

Disc 2

  1. Lonesome Fiddle Blues
  2. Cannonball Rag
  3. Avalanchie
  4. Flint Hill Special
  5. Togary Mountian
  6. Earl's Breakdown
  7. Orange Blossom Special
  8. Wabash Cannonball
  9. Lost Highway
  10. Doc Watson and Merle Travis: First Meeting
  11. Way Downtown
  12. Down Yonder
  13. Pins and Needles (In My Heart)
  14. Honky Tonk Blues
  15. Sailin' on to Hawaii
  16. I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
  17. I Am a Pilgrim
  18. Wildwood Flower
  19. Soldier's Joy
  20. Will the Circle Be Unbroken
  21. Both Sides Now
  22. Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  23. Warming up For "The Opry"
  24. Sunny Side
  25. Remember Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band   Primary Artist
Norman Blake   Dobro
Earl Scruggs   Banjo
Roy Acuff   Vocals
Merle Travis   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Doc Watson   Guitar,Background Vocals
Thompson   Mandolin,Background Vocals
Larry Murray   Background Vocals
Ray Martin   Background Vocals
John McEuen   Banjo
Mother Maybelle Carter   Guitar,Autoharp,Vocals
Mike Carr   Background Vocals
Vassar Clements   Fiddle
Fred Cross   Background Vocals
Jimmie Fadden   Harp
Jeff Hanna   Background Vocals,Washboard
Jimmy Martin   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Alice McEuen   Background Vocals,Handwriting
William McEuen   Guitar
Gary Scruggs   Background Vocals
Randy Scruggs   Guitar,Autoharp,Background Vocals
Steve Scruggs   Background Vocals
Roy Huskey   Bass
Chet Flippo   Background Vocals
Gloria Belle   Background Vocals
Martha Flippo   Background Vocals
Pete "Oswald" Kirby   Dobro
Ellis Padgett   Bass
Louise Scruggs   Background Vocals
Betty Travis   Background Vocals
William E. McEuen   Guitar

Technical Credits

Earl Scruggs   Arranger,Composer
Merle Travis   Arranger
Doc Watson   Arranger,Composer,Adaptation
Thompson   Arranger
Larry Murray   Arranger
Ray Martin   Arranger
John McEuen   Arranger,Composer,Reissue Producer
A.P. Carter   Composer
Vassar Clements   Composer
Rex Collier   Engineer
Carlton "Santa" Davis   Repackaging Art Direction
Jeff Hanna   Arranger
Dino Lappas   Engineer,Contributor
Jimmy Martin   Arranger,Composer
Alice McEuen   Arranger
William McEuen   Arranger,Producer,Art Direction,Concept,Production Design
Joe Rogers   Repackaging Design
Gary Scruggs   Arranger
Randy Scruggs   Arranger
Steve Scruggs   Arranger
Hank Williams   Composer
Roy Huskey   Arranger
Pete "Oswald" Kirby   Arranger
Ellis Padgett   Arranger
Louise Scruggs   Arranger
Betty Travis   Arranger
Dean Torrence   Graphic Design
Rick Horton   Engineer
Gary Garett   Composer
Denise Jarvis   Repackaging Art Direction
Traditional   Composer
Edria A. Humphrey   Composer
Beecher Kirby   Composer
William E. McEuen   Arranger,Producer,Art Direction,Concept,Production Design

Customer Reviews