by Lauren AlainaLauren Alaina




Coming in second to the dopey Scotty McCreery, Lauren Alaina is cut from the same country cloth as the winner of American Idol 10. Like McCreery, Alaina hails from the south and is perhaps a little bit too young to have lived everything she sings, but unlike McCreery, Alaina doesn't have a preternaturally aged voice. Scotty's baritone suggests he's seen things he hasn't, but Lauren still has a girlish twang to her voice, which lends her a greater bit of vulnerability, something that comes in handy on her quickly recorded and released debut, Wildflower. It also helps that Alaina is nowhere near as smarmy as McCreery, who always seems to regard his passable talents as exceptional. Alaina is earnest, pouring her heart into generic celebrations of the New South, name-dropping Alan Jackson and Jason Aldean, diesel trucks, John Deeres, Sunday mornings, a mother's love, country boys in blue jeans and T-shirts, everything outside of sweet tea that makes small southern towns great. Byron Gallimore, who previously produced Sugarland and Faith Hill, gives Wildflower an appealing gloss that helps disguise the ordinariness of the material along with any of Alaina's shortcomings, and that slickness serves Wildflower well, making it a much more enjoyable piece of product than McCreery's Clear as Day.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/11/2011
Label: Mercury Nashville
UPC: 0602527811031
catalogNumber: 001602502

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lauren Alaina   Primary Artist
Charlie Bisharat   Fiddle
Dan Dugmore   Dobro,Steel Guitar
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle,Mandolin
Shannon Forrest   Percussion,Drums
Larry Franklin   Fiddle
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Byron Gallimore   Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Jerry McPherson   Electric Guitar
Jamie Muhoberac   Keyboards
Steve Nathan   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Lonnie Wilson   Percussion,Drums
Glenn Worf   Bass
Pat McGrath   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin,Guitar (Resonator)
Craig Young   Bass
Troy Lancaster   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Lisa Gregg   Background Vocals
Perry Coleman   Background Vocals
Tania Hancheroff   Background Vocals
Jeanette Olsson   Background Vocals
Michael Thompson   Guitar

Technical Credits

Byron Gallimore   Producer
Julian King   Engineer
Lonnie Wilson   Loop
Brett James   Composer
Tom Shapiro   Composer
Christopher "Tricky" Stewart   Producer
Gordie Sampson   Composer
Kelley Lovelace   Composer
Zac Maloy   Composer
Steve McEwan   Composer
Blair Daly   Composer
Erik Lutkins   Engineer
Karen Naff   Art Direction
Anthony Smith   Composer
Rachel Proctor   Composer
Aaron Pearce   Producer
Hillary Lindsey   Composer
David Hodges   Composer
Sara Lesher   Engineer
Carrie Underwood   Composer
Ashley Gorley   Composer
Nathan Chapman   Composer
Liz Rose   Composer
Luke Laird   Composer
April Geesbreght   Composer
Mallary Hope   Composer
Tony Martin   Composer
Marla Cannon   Composer
Chris "Tek" O'Ryan   Engineer
Nikki Williams   Composer
Nicole Witt   Composer
Ben Carver   Composer
Stephen Allbritten   Engineer
Lauren Alaina   Composer
Nicolle Galyon   Composer

Customer Reviews