Who Was That Masked Man?

Who Was That Masked Man?

by OrionOrion


$124.70 $124.99 Save 0% Current price is $124.7, Original price is $124.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Let's call a spade a spade. Orion is an Elvis impersonator. No more, no less. That he's a good Elvis impersonator is important, since if he wasn't, Sun probably wouldn't have tried to promote his recordings as if they were genuine Elvis material, even going to the extremes of overdubbing Orion's voices on recordings by such Sun stalwarts as Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins. This doesn't make him any better, but it sure makes him fascinating, particularly because he is gifted at mimicry and these are pretty good evocations of Elvis at his peak. Bear Family's four-disc box Who Was That Masked Man? contains all of his '70s masterworks, including original recordings and fake duets, and it's a singularly fascinating listen. Really, it's pretty good music, but for God's sake, the blatant charlatanism behind this can grate even those with an inclination for kitsch. Taken on surface value, it's enjoyable, but dig a little deeper and it becomes a little silly and a little creepy and completely fascinating. That's not necessarily justification for a four-disc set, but if you're inclined to purchase this on the basis of what Orion is, you won't be disappointed, no matter how uneven the music is.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/23/1999
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 4000127163301
catalogNumber: 16330
Rank: 123078


Disc 1

  1. Moody Blue
  2. Return to Sender
  3. Hurt
  4. Kentucky Rain
  5. It's Now or Never
  6. Burning Love
  7. You Don't Have to Say You Love Me
  8. My Way
  9. Love Me Tender
  10. Can't Help Falling in Love
  11. Mean Woman Blues
  12. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear
  13. Hound Dog
  14. That's All Right
  15. Blue Moon of Kentucky
  16. I Forgot to Remember to Forget
  17. Such a Night
  18. Where He Leads Me
  19. Sweet Hour of Prayer
  20. I Surrender All
  21. Peace in the Valley
  22. It Is No Secret
  23. I Believe
  24. He Touched Me
  25. Softly and Tenderly
  26. Where No One Stands Alone
  27. Just a Closer Walk With Thee

Disc 2

  1. Honey
  2. Billy and Sue
  3. Last Kiss
  4. Long Black Limousine
  5. Teen Angel
  6. Endless Sleep
  7. Patches
  8. Tell Laura I Love Her
  9. Tragedy
  10. Ebony Eyes
  11. Rocky
  12. Susie Q
  13. Long Tall Sallyy
  14. Peggy Sue
  15. Rockin' Little Angel
  16. Maybellene
  17. Mona Lisa
  18. Lonesome Angel
  19. Midnight Rendezvous
  20. I Hear You Knockin'
  21. Matchbox
  22. I'm Gonna Be a Wheel Someday
  23. Rockabilly Rebel
  24. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
  25. Memphis Sun

Disc 3

  1. Feeling
  2. Before the Next Teardrop Falls
  3. She Hates to Be Alone
  4. Am I That Easy to Forget
  5. Just Out of Reach
  6. There Ya Go
  7. What Did I Promise Her Last Night
  8. Rollin' With the Flow
  9. Green, Green Grass of Home
  10. Long Black Veil
  11. Faded Love
  12. Crazy Arms
  13. Release Me
  14. Texas Tea
  15. Please Help Me, I'm Falling
  16. Sen Me the Pillow You Dream On
  17. He'll Have to Go
  18. Snowbird
  19. I Can't Stop Loving You
  20. I Love You Because
  21. No One Will Ever Know
  22. Old Mexico
  23. Night of the Rain
  24. These Sometimes
  25. Listen to Daddy (I'll Sing You What to Dream) (And Shana)

Disc 4

  1. Be-Bop-A-Lula
  2. On My Knees
  3. Dixie Fried
  4. Gentle as a Lamb
  5. Money
  6. Breakup
  7. Matchbox
  8. Good Rockin' Tonight
  9. Gone, Gone, Gone
  10. Sittin' and Thinkin'
  11. Save the Last Dance for Me
  12. Sweet Little Sixteen
  13. I Love You Because
  14. C.C. Rider
  15. Cold, Cold Heart
  16. Hello Josephine
  17. It Won't Happen With Me
  18. What'd I Say
  19. Good Golly Miss Molly
  20. Rockin' the Boat of Love
  21. Your True Love
  22. Put Your Cat Clothes On
  23. Country Boy
  24. Caught in the Middle
  25. When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again
  26. Honey Don't
  27. Get Rhythm
  28. Who Will the Next Fool Be?
  29. Lonely Street
  30. Ballad of a Teenage Queen
  31. Glad All Over

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Orion   Primary Artist
Johnny Cash   Track Performer
Charlie Rich   Track Performer
Jerry Lee Lewis   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Charlie Rich   Composer
Paul Anka   Composer
Chuck Berry   Composer
Ray Charles   Composer
Buddy Holly   Composer
Carl Perkins   Composer
Dave Bartholomew   Composer
Wayne Cochran   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Carl Mann   Composer
Leon Payne   Composer
Norman Petty   Composer
Jerry Allison   Composer
Jack Clement   Composer
Luigi Creatore   Composer
Fats Domino   Composer
Colin Escott   Illustrations
Mel Foree   Composer
Roy Hayes   Composer
Hugo Peretti   Composer
Curly Putman   Composer
Jody Reynolds   Composer
Fred Rose   Composer
Shelby Singleton   Producer
George David Weiss   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Rev. Thomas A. Dorsey   Composer
Michael McCall   Biographical Notes
Bobby Smith   Producer
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer,Discographical Information
Mark Charron   Composer
Holger Von Bargen   Art Direction
Robert "Bumps" Blackwell   Composer
Pearl King   Composer
John Marascalco   Composer
Jacques Revaux   Composer
Claude François   Composer
Gilles Thibault   Composer
Dub Williams   Composer
Robert Yount   Composer
Wolfgang Taubenauer   Artwork
Traditional   Composer
Eddie Miller   Composer
Dolores Nance   Composer
Don Powell   Tape Research
Eleanor Broadwater   Composer

Customer Reviews