Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Who Can I Be Now? (1974-1976)

Who Can I Be Now? (1974-1976)

by David Bowie David Bowie
Who Can I Be Now? (1974-1976)

Who Can I Be Now? (1974-1976)

by David Bowie David Bowie


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, March 30


A sequel to the 2015 box Five Years 1969-1973, 2016's Who Can I Be Now? (1974-1976) covers just three years but this stretch in the mid-'70s happens to be the peak of David Bowie's superstardom. That much can be gleaned from the number of albums within the set: three studio albums -- Diamond Dogs, Young Americans, Station to Station, each released in a subsequent year -- along with the double live album David Live from 1974. Four albums in three years is plenty but to that core canon Who Can I Be Now? adds five additional alternate albums, each with varying degrees of rarities. There are full latter-day remixes of David Live and Station to Station -- the former from 2005, the latter from 2010 -- the concert album Live Nassau Coliseum '76, which was added to the super deluxe 2010 reissue of Station to Station, a bonus disc of single edits and stray songs entitled Re:Call, plus an early version of Young Americans called The Gouster. The latter seems to bend the rules of this extensive Bowie catalog reissue project, which is to preserve the officially released canon and keep unreleased tracks -- whether they surfaced on the '90s Rykodisc reissues or remain unheard -- locked up in the vaults. The Gouster contains "Who Can I Be Now?" and "It's Gonna Be Me," both originally released on the 1990 Ryko edition of Young Americans, along with alternate versions of "Can You Hear Me?" and "Right," plus the disco version of "John, I'm Only Dancing," but otherwise it plays like Young Americans, only not quite as good. Furthermore, its presence calls into question why the unreleased outtake "Shilling the Rubes" is left behind alongside the "Dodo" that showed up on the Ryko CD of Diamond Dogs: if the door is opened for some outtakes, it's hard not to miss those that are absent. Still, this is quibbling. The Who Can I Be Now? box set remains as beautifully produced as Five Years, and a deep dive into its contents produces many rewards. Perhaps the alternate album mixes are only slightly different, but it's hard not to be impressed by the rapid development of Bowie's music during these three years. The distance between Diamond Dogs and Station to Station is vast, and the addition of the live albums accentuates how deeply he cared for strong, deeply etched funk to offset his art. Listening to all this music in a concentrated blast, such progression is a wonder to behold.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2016
Label: Parlophone (Wea)
UPC: 0190295989842
catalogNumber: 556298
Rank: 29978


Disc 1

  1. Future Legend
  2. Diamond Dogs
  3. Sweet Thing
  4. Candidate
  5. Sweet Thing
  6. Rebel Rebel
  7. Rock 'n' Roll with Me
  8. We Are the Dead
  9. 1984
  10. Big Brother
  11. Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family

Disc 2

  1. 1984
  2. Rebel Rebel
  3. Moonage Daydream
  4. Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing (Reprise)
  5. Changes
  6. Suffragette City
  7. Aladdin Sane
  8. All the Young Dudes
  9. Cracked Actor

Disc 3

  1. Rock 'n' Roll With Me
  2. Watch That Man
  3. Knock on Wood
  4. Diamond Dogs
  5. Big Brother
  6. The Width of a Circle
  7. The Jean Genie
  8. Rock 'n' Roll Suicide

Disc 4

  1. 1984
  2. Rebel Rebel
  3. Moonage Daydream
  4. Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing (reprise)
  5. Changes
  6. Suffragette City
  7. Aladdin Sane
  8. All the Young Dudes
  9. Cracked Actor
  10. Rock 'n' Roll With Me
  11. Watch That Man

Disc 5

  1. Knock on Wood
  2. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
  3. Space Oddity
  4. Diamond Dogs
  5. Panic in Detroit
  6. Big Brother
  7. Time
  8. The Width of a Circle
  9. The Jean Genie
  10. Rock 'n' Roll Suicide

Disc 6

  1. John, I'm Only Dancing (Again)
  2. Somebody Up There Likes Me
  3. It's Gonna Be Me
  4. Who Can I Be Now?
  5. Can You Hear Me?
  6. Young Americans
  7. Right

Disc 7

  1. Young Americans
  2. Win
  3. Fascination
  4. Right
  5. Somebody Up There Likes Me
  6. Across the Universe
  7. Can You Hear Me?
  8. Fame

Disc 8

  1. Station to Station
  2. Golden Years
  3. Word on a Wing
  4. TVC15
  5. Stay
  6. Wild Is the Wind

Disc 9

  1. Station to Station
  2. Golden Years
  3. Word on a Wing
  4. TVC15
  5. Stay
  6. Wild Is the Wind

Disc 10

  1. Station to Station
  2. Suffragette City
  3. Fame
  4. Word on a Wing
  5. Stay
  6. Waiting for the Man
  7. Queen Bitch

Disc 11

  1. Life on Mars?
  2. Five Years
  3. Panic in Detroit
  4. Changes
  5. TVC15
  6. Diamond Dogs
  7. Rebel Rebel
  8. The Jean Genie

Disc 12

  1. Rebel Rebel
  2. Diamond Dogs
  3. Rebel Rebel
  4. Rock 'n' Roll With Me
  5. Panic in Detroit
  6. Young Americans
  7. Fame
  8. Golden Years
  9. Station to Station
  10. TVC15
  11. Stay
  12. Word on a Wing
  13. John, I'm Only Dancing (Again)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Bowie   Primary Artist,Guitar,Percussion,Keyboards,Saxophone,Vocals,Background Vocals,Moog Synthesizer,Mellotron
John Lennon   Guitar,Background Vocals
Earl Slick   Guitar
Luther Vandross   Background Vocals
Mike Garson   Piano,Harpsichord,Keyboards,Moog Synthesizer,Mellotron
Michael Kamen   Oboe,Moog Synthesizer,Electro-Acoustic Piano
David Sanborn   Flute,Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Ava Cherry   Background Vocals
Herbie Flowers   Bass
Robin Clark   Background Vocals
Aynsley Dunbar   Drums
Carlos Alomar   Guitar
Roy Bittan   Piano
Dennis Davis   Drums
Richard Grando   Flute,Baritone Saxophone
Anthony Hinton   Background Vocals
Jean Millington   Background Vocals
George Murray   Bass
Tony Newman   Drums
Andy Newmark   Drums
Alan Parker   Guitar
Warren Peace   Vocals,Background Vocals
Pablo Rosario   Percussion
Larry Washington   Percussion
Willie Weeks   Bass
Diane Sumler   Background Vocals
Ralph McDonald   Percussion
Gui Andrisano   Background Vocals
Michael Garson   Keyboards
Jean Finfberg   Background Vocals
Emir Ksasan   Bass

Technical Credits

David Bowie   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Arrangements
Steve Cropper   Composer
Eddie Floyd   Composer
Luther Vandross   Vocal Arrangements
Michael Kamen   Musical Director
Joe Harris   Composer
Keith Harwood   Engineer
Eddie Kramer   Engineer
Harry Maslin   Producer,Engineer
Warren Peace   Composer
Dutch Robinson   Composer
Tony Visconti   Producer,String Arrangements
Greg Webster   Composer
Clarence "Satch" Satchell   Composer
Eric Stephen Jacobs   Cover Photo,Sleeve Photo
Lee Black Childers   Inside Photo
Guy Peellaert   Artwork,Cover Painting
Scott Minshall   Artwork
Carl Parulow   Engineer
Ralph Middlebrooks   Composer
Marshall Jones   Composer
Show Company   Live Sound
Leroy Bonner   Composer

Customer Reviews