White Light From the Mouth of Infinity/Love of Life

White Light From the Mouth of Infinity/Love of Life

by SwansSwans


$23.67 $24.99 Save 5% Current price is $23.67, Original price is $24.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, April 26


The opening track "Better Than You" almost says it all: Starting with the wail of an infant, then suddenly crashing into surging music that mixes quick, energetic drums with bells and other instruments, the song turns into a dramatic acoustic guitar/percussion piece with Gira's brooding voice and Jarboe's haunting backing; after some re-developments of the themes, it ends with a beautiful restatement of the sung section with additional guitar and bell sounds. At once incredibly destructive and astoundingly life-affirming -- and worth the entire Burning World album several times over -- "Better Than You" demonstrates that Swans had emerged from their major-label fiasco even more powerful and artistic than before, aiming for an awesome, all-encompassing majesty in their music that the admittedly hypnotic earlier versions of the band, in their brute forcefulness, simply could not have achieved. Interestingly, a number of players from Burning World and other Bill Laswell associates participate on White Light, but here Gira as sole producer marshals everyone's collective efforts to heights that Laswell either was unwilling or unable to do. Also notably, Westberg is all but absent on guitar, with new arrival Clinton Steele taking the fore as the major instrumentalist after Gira and Jarboe themselves. Picking out all the highlights from such a stunning disc is practically impossible, but three of the flat-out classic marvels here are: "You Know Nothing," with its simply lovely introduction and Gira's commanding singing; "Song for Dead Time," a gentle Jarboe-sung number filled out by a simple but effective string-synth arrangement; and "Failure," carried by a buried guitar strum, Gira's Sisyphean lyric, and brief, lush choruses. Simply put, this is out and out brilliant as the clear starting point for the second half of Swans' unique career.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/04/2015
Label: Young God Records
UPC: 0658457004920
catalogNumber: 49
Rank: 32583


Disc 1

  1. Better Than You
  2. Power and Sacrifice
  3. You Know Nothing
  4. Song for Dead Time
  5. Will We Survive?
  6. Love Will Save You
  7. Faliure
  8. Song for the Sun
  9. Miracle of Love
  10. Blind
  11. When She Breathes
  12. Why Are We Alive ?
  13. The Most Unfortunate Lie

Disc 2

  1. (---), Pt. 1
  2. Love of Life
  3. The Golden Boy That Was Swallowed by the Sea
  4. (---), Pt. 2
  5. (---), Pt. 3
  6. The Other Side of the World
  7. Her
  8. The Sound of Freedom
  9. (---). Pt. 4
  10. Amnesia
  11. Identity
  12. (---). Pt. 5
  13. Eyes of Nature
  14. She Cries (For Spider)
  15. God Loves America
  16. (---), Pt. 6
  17. No Cure for the Lonely

Disc 3

  1. Amnesia
  2. The Song for Dead Time
  3. You Know Everything
  4. Mother's Milk
  5. The Child's Right
  6. Love of Life
  7. The Unfortunate Lie
  8. No Cruel Angel
  9. Black Eyed Dog
  10. Love of Life
  11. Picture of Maryanne
  12. Amnesia
  13. Dream Dream
  14. Please Remember Me
  15. Drink to Me Only With Thine Eyes
  16. The Unknown
  17. Blood On Your Hands
  18. A Young Girl Needs

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Swans   Primary Artist
Jarboe   Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Mellotron
Steve Burgh   Mandolin,12-string Guitar
Anton Fier   Drums
Michael Gira   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Sampling,Sounds
Algis Kizys   Bass Guitar
Tony Maimone   Bass Guitar
Steve McAllister   Bass Guitar
Ted Parsons   Drums
Hahn Rowe   Violin
Nicky Skopelitis   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Electric Guitar,Baglama,Bazouki
Vincent Signorelli   Percussion,Drums
Clinton Steele   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jenny Wade   Banjo,Bass Guitar,Bazouki
Norman Westberg   Electric Guitar
Troy Gregory   Bass Guitar
Adam Jankowski   Narrator
Lary Seven   Bass,Electric Guitar
Christoph Hahn   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

Nick Drake   Composer
Martin Bisi   Programming,Engineer
Jarboe   Arranger,Composer,Orchestral Arrangements,Instrumentation
Anton Fier   drum programming
Michael Gira   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Art Direction,Instrumentation
Bryce Goggin   Engineer
Steve McAllister   Programming,Engineer
Mark Richardson   Engineer
J.G. Thirlwell   Producer,Remixing
Deryk Thomas   Paintings
Traditional   Composer
Paul A. Taylor   Layout
Brain Martin   Remixing

Customer Reviews