While No One Was Looking: Toasting 20 Years of Bloodshot Records

While No One Was Looking: Toasting 20 Years of Bloodshot Records


$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


Independent record labels are not always known for their longevity, so the mere fact Chicago's Bloodshot Records has managed to celebrate a 20th birthday is remarkable in itself. Even more impressive, though, is the fact Bloodshot has survived as a principled and artist-friendly label largely devoted to what was being called alt-country in 1994 (the label has always preferred the phrase "insurgent country"), a movement that produced many great acts but no major commercial breakthroughs. If Bloodshot's influence hasn't necessarily been broad, it's certainly proved to be deep, and on While No One Was Looking: Toasting 20 Years of Bloodshot Records, the label has thrown a grand birthday party by inviting 38 different acts to cover their favorite song from Bloodshot's catalog. It's probably significant that Bloodshot's biggest-selling album, Ryan Adams' Heartbreaker, spawned the most covers here (four), but the fact that lesser-knowns like the Meat Purveyors, Devil in a Woodpile, and the Blacks are shown some love confirms that the label's work frequently fell on the right ears, if not always the most ears. And if you want evidence that the label's staff know a good song when they hear one, the eclectic interpretations on While No One Was Looking reveal that nearly every tune here is a winner that can be interpreted in a variety of ways. Superchunk turn Adams' "Come Pick Me Up" into a big, noisy rocker without sacrificing its soul, Ted Leo's ghostly electronic interpretation of the Waco Brothers' "Dragging My Own Tombstone" is striking and powerful, Mike Watt gives Jon Langford & the Sadies' "Up to My Neck in This" an angular spin that suits his singular musical personality, the North Carolina Music Love Army embrace Graham Parker's "Stick to the Plan" with all the joy and bile that it deserves, Andrew Bird & Nora O'Connor conjure a version of Robbie Fulks' "I'll Trade You Money for Wine" that's even more doomstruck than the original, and Interpol's Samuel Fogarino radically reshapes Charlie Pickett's "Liked It a Lot" into a gloomy bit of goth-influenced electronic experimentation. Different listeners often find different things when they listen to a worthwhile album, and While No One Was Looking confirms plenty of folks heard fascinating things in the music Bloodshot has brought to the marketplace, it's a great listen that's full of fine surprises and passionate music. Now how about a follow-up in which Bloodshot artists cover one another's tunes?

Product Details

Release Date: 11/17/2014
Label: Bloodshot Records
UPC: 0744302022321
catalogNumber: 223
Rank: 103880


Disc 1

  1. To Be Young (is To Be Sad, is To Be High)
  2. Look the Other Way
  3. Cold Forgiver
  4. Dirt
  5. Where I Fell
  6. Things I Didn't Say
  7. Dragging My Own Tombstone
  8. Deep Red Bells
  9. My Backyard
  10. Sound of Running
  11. Aspiditra
  12. Happy Birthday Julie
  13. My Winding Wheel
  14. Survivor Blues
  15. Cherokee Grove
  16. Last To Know
  17. Strange Birds
  18. Manifold
  19. St. Nick On the Fourth In a Fervor
  20. I Came Around

Disc 2

  1. I'll Trade You Money For Wine
  2. 2:00 AM
  3. The Corner
  4. Come Pick Me Up
  5. East Jefferson
  6. Fake Out Jesus
  7. Up To My Neck In This
  8. Oh My Sweet Carolina
  9. Broken Bottle
  10. 1000 Dollar Car
  11. All Grown Up
  12. Is That You In the Blue?
  13. Truck Driver
  14. Dry Land
  15. All the Time
  16. Stick To the Plan
  17. I Wish I Was the Moon
  18. Liked It a Lot

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Scott McCaughey   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Vocals
Chuck Prophet   Vocals,Musician
Peter Buck   Electric Guitar,Guitar (12 String Electric)
Mark Connor   Bass
Brian Leach   Guitar,Vocals
Marty Rifkin   Dobro
Tom Watson   Guitar
Mike Watt   Bass
Luke Tierney   Guitar,Vocals
Rennie Sparks   Bass
Tim Bluhm   Piano,Vocals
Chip Robinson   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Chris Shiflett   Guitar,Vocals
Caitlin Cary   Vocals
Kenny Roby   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Vocals
Carolyn Mark   Guitar,Vocals
Skillet Gilmore   Drums
Brian Hunt   Bass Guitar
Brian Krumm   Guitar,Vocals
Ben Kweller   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Overdubs
Don Cento   Electric Guitar
Jeff Gross   Bass
M.C. Taylor   Guitar,Tambourine,Vocals
Derek Silverman   Accordion
Christian Moder   Drums,Vocals
Robb MacLean   Guitar,Vocals
Patrick Carrie   Guitar,Piano,Background Vocals
Ryan Barnum   Organ,Piano
Jerry DeCicca   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Caitlyn Smith   French Horn
Tyson Vogel   Drums,Vocals
Milo Todesco   Drums
Aaron Robinson   Slide Guitar
Dave Davison   Guitar,Vocals
Megan Lewis   Vocal Harmony
Justin Entsminger   Bass Guitar
Frank Turner   Piano,Vocals
Charlie Parr   Banjo,Vocals
Chris Boosahda   Drums
Chris Boerner   Bass,Guitar
Josh Peyton   Guitar,Vocals
Breezy Peyton   Vocals,Washboard
Samantha Crain   Guitar,Vocals
Dennis Caplinger   Banjo,Mandolin,Guest Appearance
Joe Adragna   Percussion,Drums
Brendan Spengler   Organ
James Leg   Piano,Vocals
Nicki Bluhm   Vocals
Dave Gutierrez   Guitar,Pedal Steel Guitar
Raul Morales   Drums
Matt Winegar   Vocals,Musician
Phil Cook   Banjo,Piano,Vocals
Andrew Koji Shiraki   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Eve Searls   Vocals
Thalia Ferreira   Background Vocals
Kyle Reid   Guitar
John Calvin Abney   Piano
Daniel Foulks   Violin
Ryan Carbary   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar
Dave Mulligan   Vocals
Jonny Phillip   Percussion,Cymbals,Drums
Alejandro Rose-Garcia   Guitar,Vocals
Kevin "Shinyribs" Russell   Guitar,Ukulele
Adam Stephens   Vocals
Jenni Charles   Fiddle,Guest Appearance
Gwynedd Stuart   Vocals
Cole Mauro   Drums
Ben "Birddog" Bussell   Drums,Vocals
Jeff Mitchell   Background Vocals,Guitar (Baritone)

Technical Credits

Shel Silverstein   Composer
Graham Parker   Composer
Andre Williams   Composer
Ellie Greenwich   Composer
Scott McCaughey   Engineer
Rick Parker   Producer
Phil Spector   Composer
Matt Allison   Engineer
Jeff Barry   Composer
Alejandro Escovedo   Composer
Jon Langford   Composer
Mark Pickerel   Composer
Dexter Romweber   Composer
John Galway   Composer
Tom Ray   Composer
Wayne Hancock   Composer
Waco Brothers   Composer
Brian Henneman   Composer
Ted Leo   Engineer
Robbie Fulks   Composer
Neko Case   Composer
David Rawlings   Composer
Brett Sparks   Engineer
Jason Narducy   Producer
Ryan Williams   Engineer
Sadies   Composer
Ryan Adams   Composer
Devil in a Woodpile   Composer
Vance Powell   Engineer
Jon Rauhouse   Composer
Sam Fogarino   Producer,Engineer
Danny Black   Composer
Gina Black   Composer
Limbeck   Engineer
Ben Kweller   Engineer
Don Cento   Engineer
Tim Kasher   Engineer
Cory Branan   Composer
Ben Weaver   Composer
Jason Merritt   Engineer
Jason Cupp   Engineer
Dave Simon-Baker   Engineer
Luke Tweedy   Engineer
Murder by Death   Composer
Scott H. Biram   Composer
Matthew Melton   Engineer
James Aparicio   Engineer
Eric Earley   Producer
J.J. Wiesler   Engineer
Justin Townes Earle   Composer
Possessed by Paul James   Producer
Chris Boosahda   Engineer
Neil Strauch   Engineer
Myke Hall   Engineer
Daniel Romano   Producer
Josh Peyton   Producer
Samantha Crain   Producer
Charlie Pickett   Composer
Mike Perotto   Engineer
John Schimpf   Engineer
Cris Burns   Engineer
Celso Estrada   Engineer
Dave Trumfio   Engineer
Lydia Loveless   Composer
Shakey Graves   Arranger,Engineer
Andrew Koji Shiraki   Engineer
Eddie Spear   Engineer
Daniel Foulks   String Arrangements
Kevin "Shinyribs" Russell   Producer,Engineer
Wes Haron   Engineer
Ueli Steinmann   Engineer
Matthew Bohannon   Engineer
Konrad West   Producer
Dan Figuerelli   Engineer
Chris Borner   Engineer
Van Alston   Composer

Customer Reviews