Where Have I Known You Before/No Mystery

Where Have I Known You Before/No Mystery

by Chick CoreaChick Corea


$17.77 $17.99 Save 1% Current price is $17.77, Original price is $17.99. You Save 1%.


England's Beat Goes On Label does two-fers better than almost anyone else. They remaster the music, pop the CDs into durable, slim-line jewel cases, and offer authoritative liner notes as well as a tidy, if not overly attractive, paper slipcase. This double-disc includes the two middle period Return to Forever releases, Where Have I Known You Before, originally issued in 1974, and No Mystery, released in 1975, which was also the band's final album for Polydor -- they moved to Columbia for 1976's classic Romantic Warrior. The first of these two discs introduced the band's legendary -- though not original -- lineup: with Chick Corea on keyboards, bassist Stanley Clarke, drummer Lenny White, and new guitarist Al DiMeola, who replaced Bill Connors. The now corny sci-fi imagery was perfect for the mid-'70s, and the stellar blend of knotty compositions and intense solo improvisation made for one of RTF's most compelling albums. No Mystery, featuring the same personnel, generally got shorter shrift, but hindsight being 20/20, that's unwarranted. Time has proven it to be a very consistent -- though admittedly less groundbreaking -- offering; it's worthy of real reconsideration in the 21st century. These records were, along with Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy and Romantic Warrior, Billy Cobham's Spectrum, Tony Williams' Lifetime, the Mahavishnu Orchestra's Inner Mounting Flame and Birds of Fire, the epitome of jazz-rock fusion; Miles Davis' music of the era was always something more mysterious, more speculative, and far funkier than this muscular -- and masculine -- blurred out blend of instrumental pyrotechnics. The BGO versions of these albums sound a whole level or two better than the domestic budget reissues.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/29/2008
Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On
UPC: 5017261207999
catalogNumber: 799


Disc 1

  1. Vulcan Worlds
  2. Where Have I Loved You Before
  3. The Shadow of Lo
  4. Where Have I Danced with You Before
  5. Beyond the Seventh Galaxy
  6. Earth Juice
  7. Where Have I Known You Before
  8. Song to the Pharoah Kings

Disc 2

  1. Dayride
  2. Jungle Waterfall
  3. Flight of the Newborn
  4. Sofistifunk
  5. Excerpt from the First Movement of Heavy Metal
  6. No Mystery
  7. Interplay
  8. Celebration Suite, Pt. 1
  9. Celebration Suite, Pt. 2

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Armando Anthony Corea   Primary Artist,Organ,Synthesizer,Percussion,Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Clavinet,Group Member
Lenny White   Percussion,Bongos,Conga,Drums,Marimbas,Group Member
Stanley Clarke   Organ,Synthesizer,Percussion,Electric Bass,Chimes,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Acoustic Bass,Upright Bass,Bell-tree,Group Member
Di Meola   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,12-string Guitar,Guitar (12 String Acoustic),Group Member

Technical Credits

Armando Anthony Corea   Producer,Audio Production
Shelly Yakus   Producer,Engineer
Neville Potter   Author,Package Concept
Bill Levy   Art Direction,Package Concept
Herb Dreiwitz   Cover Photo
Alyn Shipton   Liner Notes
Petra Kinkele   Cover Design

Customer Reviews