When the Saints Go Marching In: Greatest Dixieland

When the Saints Go Marching In: Greatest Dixieland


$28.49 $29.99 Save 5% Current price is $28.49, Original price is $29.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 2


When the Saints Go Marching In is the title of perhaps too many New Orleans/Dixieland jazz collections. Happily, Dynamic Entertainment's 71-track anthology contains an unusually high quantity of excellent music, far outstripping most similarly titled albums. Jelly Roll Morton, King Oliver, Bunk Johnson, Louis Armstrong, Kid Ory, Johnny Dodds, Edmond Hall, Sidney Bechet, the Friars Society Orchestra (also known as the New Orleans Rhythm Kings) and Bix Beiderbecke certainly stand for authenticity and originality here, with Muggsy Spanier, Frankie Trumbauer, Miff Mole, Red Nichols, Jack Teagarden, Bunny Berigan, Jimmy McPartland, Pee Wee Russell, Eddie Condon, George Wettling, Wild Bill Davison, and Bobby Hackett forming a rock-solid second line and Lu Watters, Turk Murphy, Pee Wee Hunt, Bob Crosby and the Firehouse Five Plus Two representing some of the most popular elements of the Dixieland revival. This is a heartwarming and profoundly reassuring parcel of old-fashioned, good-time music performed by many of the primary participants.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/08/2019
Label: Dynamic
UPC: 0827139354725
catalogNumber: 3547
Rank: 148882

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Steve Allen   Composer
Eddie Condon   Composer
Billy Higgins   Composer
Ben Pollack   Composer
Lester Young   Composer
Ray Bauduc   Composer
Bob Haggart   Composer
Nick LaRocca   Composer
Frank Melrose   Composer
Charles Davis   Composer
W.C. Handy   Composer
Armand Piron   Composer
Ben Bernie   Composer
Lew Brown   Composer
Irving Caesar   Composer
Will Marion Cook   Composer
Will J. Harris   Composer
Joe Jordan   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Tony Sbarbaro   Composer
Joseph Meyer   Composer
Roger Wolfe Kahn   Composer
Carmen Lombardo   Composer
Ray Gilbert   Composer
Harry Brooks   Composer
DuBose Heyward   Composer
J. Russel Robinson   Composer
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Kenneth Casey   Composer
Sidney Clare   Composer
Phil Boutelje   Composer
Frank Perkins   Composer
George Rubens   Composer
Traditional   Composer
W. Benton Overstreet   Composer
Fred Meinken   Composer

Customer Reviews