Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, October 4
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Sex, drugs, and rock & roll. And rap. On G-Eazy's second LP, When It's Dark Out (RCA), he proves his industry savvy with a collection of hedonistic rhymes set to the wooziest of productions. The self-made Young Gerald oozes confidence, supported with an army of impressive guests ranging from singers Bebe Rexha ("Me, Myself & I") and Keyshia Cole ("Nothing to Me") to hip-hop stars Big Sean ("One of Them") and Chris Brown ("Drifting"). Old-school icons Too $hort ("Of All Things") and E-40 ("Nothing to Me") even show up at the party. There aren't many surprises here for fans, save for the fact that he manages to spin the same nocturnal stories of drugs, partying, and fornicating over 17 addictive tracks without it ever growing stale. G-Eazy knows what he's doing: he executes flawlessly with the shrewdness befitting of his Loyola University music industry studies degree. He also manages to differentiate himself from easy race comparisons, rapping about being "the coldest white rapper in the game since the one with the bleached hair." He's not corny like Macklemore, not scary like Eminem, not as earnest and afflicted as newcomer Witt Lowry. He spits about what he knows. He's a different breed: a rapper who looks like a rock star. On "For This," he takes a brief break from all the partying with a lyrical reminder of how far he's come, and how he did it by himself. It's an assured nod to the past, when rising in the game came with a lot of discipline and grassroots support. Beneath the debauchery and boasting, G-Eazy sounds grateful to see his hard work pay off. Just don't stop his party. [When It's Dark Out was also released on LP.] ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2016
Label: Rca
UPC: 0888751536616
catalogNumber: 515366
Rank: 29444


Disc 1

  1. Intro
  2. Random
  3. Me, Myself & I
  4. One of Them
  5. Drifting
  6. Of All Things
  7. Order More
  8. Calm Down
  9. Don't Let Me Go

Disc 2

  1. You Got Me
  2. What If
  3. Sad Boy
  4. Some Kind of Drug
  5. Think About You
  6. Everything Will Be OK
  7. For This
  8. Nothing to Me

Album Credits

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews