What It Is Y'all: The Best of Señor Soul

What It Is Y'all: The Best of Señor Soul

by Senor Soul Senor Soul


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 9


This 20-track CD compiles most of Senor Soul's sparse recorded output, including most of the songs from their sole LP (from 1968) and 1967-1970 singles, along with a couple of previously unissued outtakes. Most of it's decent but second-level instrumental soul music, and not quite among the best of the 1960s' soul-jazz or Latin soul hybrids. Certainly, however, you can hear the seeds of some of War's future ideas, particularly in the Latin R&B flavor and the flute parts of Charles Miller. A good portion of it is devoted to covers of contemporary rock and soul hits like "Psychotic Reaction," "Sunshine Superman," "Uptight (Everything's Alright)," and "It's Your Thing," though a little more personality and originality come through on the tunes penned by Miller or producer Maurice Rodgers. By far the most solid indication of Miller's future direction in War is the 1970 single "Don't Lay Your Funky Trip on Me"/"I Ain't Got No Soul Today (What It Is, Y'All)," both because it has vocals and it most likely features the original lineup of War (most of whom get the songwriting credits for both numbers). In fact, those two slyly humorous tracks sound enough like War's early records that they could slot in on an early bona fide War album with little problem.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/20/2002
Label: Beat Goes Public Bgp
UPC: 0029667514620
catalogNumber: 146
Rank: 135584


  1. The Mouse
  2. Don't Lay Your Funky Trip on Me
  3. Psychotic Reaction
  4. It's Your Thing
  5. Pata Pata
  6. Get on Up
  7. Poquito Soul
  8. The Sneak
  9. I Heard It Through the Grapevine
  10. Hypnotizer
  11. I Ain't Got No Soul Today (What It Is Y'all)
  12. Spooky
  13. Uptight (Everything's Alright)
  14. Soul Fiesta
  15. Lovey Dovey Kinda Lovin'
  16. Some Got It, Some Don't
  17. Sunshine Superman
  18. Make the Funk Jump
  19. El Loco
  20. I Dig Rock & Roll Music

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Senor Soul   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Miriam Makeba   Composer
Donovan   Composer
Lee Oskar   Composer
Lonnie Jordan   Composer
Barrett Strong   Composer
Harold Brown   Composer
Buddy Buie   Composer
Brian Burrows   Cover Design
Roy Chaney   Composer
Henry Cosby   Composer
Kenn Ellner   Composer
O'Kelly Isley   Composer
Ronald Isley   Composer
Rudolph Isley   Composer
John Michalski   Composer
Jerry Ragovoy   Composer
Maurice Rodgers   Composer
Bill Sheppard   Composer
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Hal Winn   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Harry Middlebrooks   Composer
Alec Palao   Liner Notes
Joe Hooven   Composer
Gilbert Moorer   Composer
Sylvia Moy   Composer
Mike Shapiro   Composer
Morris Dickerson   Composer
Alfred Smith   Composer
David Dixon   Composer
Johnny Taylor   Composer
Thomas Sylvester Allen   Composer
Craig "Butch" Atkinson   Composer
John "Sean" Byrne   Composer
James Mason   Composer

Customer Reviews