Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
What a Crying Shame

What a Crying Shame

by The Mavericks The Mavericks
What a Crying Shame

What a Crying Shame

by The Mavericks The Mavericks


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 6


The Mavericks fully hit their stride with their third album, 1994's What a Crying Shame, in which the band's blend of rootsy country and vintage pop sounds finally found the balance they'd been searching for. While producer Don Cook gave the band a significantly glossier sound than that of their first two albums, with a hefty number of guest musicians (and guest songwriters) on board, remarkably enough the Mavericks' personality wasn't subsumed in the process; if anything, the high-priced help seemed to have prodded the boys into playing at the top of their game. Raul Malo's keening tenor gets a superb workout on "I Should Have Been True" and the title cut (the latter of which boasts a guitar hook Roger McGuinn would have been proud to come up with), while "Pretend" and "There Goes My Heart" are honky tonk floor-fillers of the first order. Robert Reynolds and Paul Deakin are a rhythm section who can give these songs the nervy drive of a rock band without betraying the Mavericks' country leanings, and they give the covers of "All That Heaven Will Allow" and "O What a Thrill" a taut foundation most contemporary Nashville acts lack. Truth to tell, What a Crying Shame doesn't have a single dud track, and offers encouraging proof that it's still possible to make an engaging and idiosyncratic country album while signed to the Nashville division of a major label...and the best news is, the band managed to turn that accomplishment into a hat trick over the next few years.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/1994
Label: Mca Nashville
UPC: 0008811096120
catalogNumber: 10961
Rank: 52266


  1. There Goes My Heart
  2. What a Crying Shame
  3. Pretend
  4. I Should Have Been True
  5. The Things You Said To Me
  6. Just a Memory
  7. All That Heaven Will Allow
  8. Neon Blue
  9. O What A Thrill
  10. Ain't Found Nobody
  11. The Losing Side Of Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mavericks   Primary Artist
James House   Background Vocals
Trisha Yearwood   Background Vocals
John Wesley Ryles   Background Vocals
Bruce Bouton   Steel Guitar
Dennis Burnside   Conductor
Mark Casstevens   Acoustic Guitar
Paul Deakin   Drums
Connie Ellisor   Violin
Carl Gorodetzky   Violin
Rob Hajacos   Fiddle
John Jarvis   Organ,Piano
Lee Larrison   Violin
Stan Lynch   Conga,Tambourine,Claves,Timpani,Cabasa
Ted Madsen   Violin
Raul Malo   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Robert Reynolds   Electric Bass
Alan Umstead   Violin
Gary VanOsdale   Viola
Kris Wilkinson   Viola
Glenn Worf   Bass,Upright Bass
John Barlow Jarvis   Piano,Hammond Organ
Nick Kane   Guitar
Joy White   Background Vocals
Dennis Wilson   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Mike Bradley   Engineer
Dennis Burnside   String Arrangements
Don Cook   Producer
Buddy Jackson   Art Direction

Customer Reviews