West Side Story [Original Soundtrack]

West Side Story [Original Soundtrack]

by Stephen SondheimStephen Sondheim

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The soundtrack of the West Side Story film is deservedly one of the most popular soundtrack recordings of all time, and one of the relatively few to have attained long-term popularity beyond a specialized soundtrack/theatrical musical audience. (It is an entirely different recording, it should be emphasized, from the original Broadway cast recording, which was also a massive-selling album.) Its widespread impact could be attributed to a few factors: the wide range of compositional and orchestral styles, from cool swing jazz and shades of Latin pop to classical; the universality of the storyline, pitting underdog lovers against the world; and an assortment of songs that goes well beyond the sentimental love odes that are the staples of musicals (though it has some of those, too), including some downright tough posturing and sardonic social commentary. "Jet Song," "America," "Gee, Officer Krupke," "Tonight," "Cool," "Maria," "I Feel Pretty," and "Something's Coming" are all among the most famous and oft-sung soundtrack numbers ever

Product Details

Release Date: 07/03/2020
Label: Masterworks
UPC: 0194397618112
catalogNumber: 976181


Disc 1

  1. Overture
  2. Prologue
  3. Jet Sog
  4. Something's Coming
  5. Dance at the Gym
  6. Maria
  7. America

Disc 2

  1. Tonight
  2. Gee, Officer Krupke
  3. Intermission Music
  4. I Feel Pretty
  5. One Hand, One Heart
  6. Tonight - Quintet
  7. The Rumble
  8. Somewhere
  9. Cool
  10. A Boy Like That - I Have a Love
  11. Finale
  12. End Credits

Album Credits

Customer Reviews