Welcome to the Fishbowl

Welcome to the Fishbowl

by Kenny ChesneyKenny Chesney


$8.69 $9.99 Save 13% Current price is $8.69, Original price is $9.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 21


There are two sides to Kenny Chesney: a side that loves the good times and a side that reflects on what it all means. The quieter side won out on 2010's Hemingway's Whiskey, an unusually literary album boasting a title track written by Guy Clark and a mournful hit in his Grace Potter duet "You and Tequila." That Top Ten country hit is reprised in a live version tacked at the end of 2012's Welcome to the Fishbowl but, as the cheeky title suggests, this is a far cheerier affair than the handsomely burnished Hemingway's Whiskey. Chesney ropes in Tim McGraw to rhapsodize about the nights when you "Feel Like a Rock Star," he sets up camp on a breezy beach so he can think about how "Time Flies," and when things get slow -- which they inevitably do on the back half of the record, where all the ballads gently roll from one to another -- there is not an underpinning of sadness, just a persistent feeling of comfort. Wedded to this warmth is a crisp clean sheen, a sound so bright that it threatens to get goofy when Chesney and crew rock out -- they're no longer as urgent as they were even five years earlier, which gives the gurgling swing of the title track a stiff white-boy funkiness that isn't necessarily alienating -- but such chipper charm permeates the entirety of Welcome to the Fishbowl, turning it into an everyday feel-good record, the kind that generates moments of warmth when heard fleetingly on the radio, at the grocery store, in a doctor's office, at work, or even at home.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/19/2012
Label: Bna Entertainment
UPC: 0886979486621
catalogNumber: 794866
Rank: 48962


  1. Come Over
  2. Feel Like a Rock Star
  3. Sing 'Em Good My Friend
  4. Welcome To the Fishbowl
  5. In a Small Town
  6. El Cerrito Place
  7. Makes Me Wonder
  8. While He Still Knows Who I Am
  9. Time Flies
  10. To Get To You (55th and 3rd)
  11. Always Gonna Be You
  12. You and Tequila

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kenny Chesney   Primary Artist
Jack Jezzro   Strings
Gary Prim   Piano
Mickey Raphael   Jew's Harp
Tim McGraw   Guest Appearance
Pat Buchanan   Harmonica,Electric Guitar
Buddy Cannon   Background Vocals
Melonie Cannon   Background Vocals
Jim Chapman   Background Vocals
David Davidson   Strings
Chris Dunn   Trombone
Kenny Greenberg   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jim Grosjean   Strings
Rob Hajacos   Fiddle
Tim Hensley   Background Vocals
Steven Herrman   Trumpet
John Hobbs   Synthesizer,Piano,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Jim Horn   Tenor Saxophone
John Jarvis   Piano
Anthony LaMarchina   Strings
Paul Leim   Percussion,Drums,Shaker
Steve Marshall   Bass
Randy McCormick   Synthesizer,Piano,Hammond B3
John Osborne   Background Vocals
Larry Paxton   Bass
Kathryn Plummer   Strings
Mike Reid   Piano
Michael Rhodes   Bass
Pamela Sixfin   Strings
Julia Tanner   Strings
Christian Teal   Strings
Alan Umstead   Strings
Catherine Umstead   Strings
Gary VanOsdale   Strings
Mary Kathryn Van Osdale   Strings
Scott Vestal   Banjo
John Willis   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Gut String Guitar
Craig Wiseman   Background Vocals
Carole Neuen-Rabinowitz   Strings
Monisa Angell   Strings
Karen Winkelmann   Strings
Shannon Brown   Background Vocals
Janet Askey   Strings
Shannon Finnegan   Background Vocals
Shane McAnally   Background Vocals
Jim Gairrett   Acoustic Guitar
Dave Angell   Strings
Nick Hoffman   Fiddle
Wyatt Beard   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Clayton Mitchell   Electric Guitar
Sean Paddock   Drums
Jaren Johnston   Background Vocals
Scott Ducaj   Trumpet
Sarighani Reist   Strings
Grace Potter   Background Vocals
Shaun Silva   Background Vocals
Joanna Smith   Background Vocals
Justin Francis   Background Vocals
Jon Conley   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Mike Johnson   Steel Guitar
Conni Ellisor   Strings
Don Lepore   Background Vocals
Zachary Gore   Background Vocals
Mason Richardson   Background Vocals
Josiah Lightle   Background Vocals
Jere Smothers   Background Vocals
Gemmi Schottenheimer   Background Vocals
Christina Waller   Background Vocals
Carl Gorodestzky   Strings
Allison Herbstreit   Background Vocals
Aimee Johns   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Matraca Berg   Composer
Skip Ewing   Composer
Tim McGraw   Duet
Buddy Cannon   Producer
Butch Carr   Engineer
Kenny Chesney   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Steve Marcantonio   Engineer
Larry Paxton   String Arrangements
Mike Reid   Composer
Kristin Wilkinson   String Arrangements
Craig Wiseman   Composer
Neil Thrasher   Composer
Brian David Willis   Engineer
Deana Carter   Composer
Keith Gattis   Composer
Wendell Mobley   Composer
Tony Castle   Engineer
Steve McEwan   Composer
Dave Berg   Composer
Shane McAnally   Composer
Dale Morris   Management,Booking
Georgia Middleman   Composer
Phil Robinson   Monitor Engineer
Jaren Johnston   Composer
Clint Higham   Management
Jake Burns   Engineer
Rodney Clawson   Composer
Bryan Baxley   Monitor Engineer
Bryan Vasquez   Engineer
Tom Douglas   Composer
Josh Osborne   Composer
Sam Hunt   Composer
Patrick Murphy   Engineer
Chris Tompkins   Composer

Customer Reviews