B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Welcome to My Nightmare

Welcome to My Nightmare

by Alice Cooper Alice Cooper
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 7


With the 1974 disintegration of the original Alice Cooper group, Alice was free to launch a solo career. He wisely decided to re-enlist the services of Bob Ezrin for his solo debut, Welcome to My Nightmare, which was a concept album tied into the story line of the highly theatrical concert tour he launched soon after the album's release. While the music lost most of the gritty edge of the original AC lineup, Welcome to My Nightmare remains Alice's best solo effort -- while some tracks stray from his expected hard rock direction, there's plenty of fist-pumping rock to go around. The disco-flavored, album-opening title track would be reworked on the stage as more of a hard rock tune, while "Some Folks" dips into cabaret territory, and "Only Women Bleed" is a sensitive ballad that became a Top Ten hit. But the rockers serve as the album's foundation -- "Devil's Food," "The Black Widow," "Department of Youth," and "Cold Ethyl" are all standouts, as is the more tranquil yet eerie epic "Steven." Despite this promising start to Cooper's solo career, the majority of his subsequent releases were often not as focused and were of varying quality.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/10/2012
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0081227972639
catalogNumber: 531664
Rank: 2239


  1. Welcome To My Nightmare
  2. Devil's Food
  3. The Black Widow
  4. Some Folks
  5. Only Women Bleed
  6. Department Of Youth
  7. Cold Ethyl
  8. Years Ago
  9. Steven
  10. The Awakening
  11. Escape

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Alice Cooper   Primary Artist
Steve Hunter   Guitar
Vincent Price   Guest Appearance
Johnny Badanjek   Drums
Bob Ezrin   Keyboards,fender rhodes
David Ezrin   Vocals
Tony Levin   Bass
Michael Sherman   Vocals
Dick Wagner   Guitar,Vocals
Whitey Glan   Drums
Gerry Lyons   Vocals
Prakash John   Bass
Jozef Chirowski   Clarinet,Keyboards,Vocals,fender rhodes
Summerhill Children's Choir   Vocals

Technical Credits

Alice Cooper   Composer
Kim Fowley   Composer
Bob Brown   Second Unit Director
Bob Ezrin   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Jim Frank   Engineer
Alan Gordon   Composer
Kelly Jay   Composer
Rod O'Brien   Engineer
Phil Ramone   Engineer
Ed Sprigg   Engineer
Corky Stasiak   Engineer
Dick Wagner   Composer
Trish McKinnon   Contributor
Drew Struzan   Illustrations
Dave Palmer   Engineer
Allan McMillan   Arranger

Customer Reviews