The Weekend Was Murder

The Weekend Was Murder

by Joan Lowery Nixon

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes The Weekend was Murder! from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
 
        Mary Elizabeth can’t wait for the weekend to begin at the Ridley Hotel, where a famous mystery writer and a troupe of actors are coming to enact a murder mystery for 150 amateur sleuths. Mary Elizabeth’s role is to discover the “body” in Room 1927, which is supposed to be haunted. But nothing prepares her for the real body she finds in Room 1927…
 
“A masterfully constructed, engaging read that…[is] ingeniously plotted, fast-paced and lighthearted.” –Publishers Weekly
 
“Fans will love wading through the myriad details and placing bets on the outcome.” –Kirkus Reviews
 
“Mystery fans will…enjoy trying to solve the various crimes.” –School Library Journal

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780307823489
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 10/31/2012
Series: Mary Elizabeth Series
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 959,664
Lexile: 840L (what's this?)
File size: 3 MB
Age Range: 12 Years

About the Author

Joan Lowery Nixon was the author of more than 130 books for young readers and was the only four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Best Young Adult Mystery Award. She received the award for The Kidnapping of Christina LattimoreThe SéanceThe Name of the Game Was Murder, and The Other Side of the Dark, which also won the California Young Reader Medal. Her historical fiction included the award-winning series The Orphan Train Adventures, Orphan Train Children, and Colonial Williamsburg: Young Americans.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Weekend Was Murder (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
sarah_h_wv More than 1 year ago
The Weekend Was Murder is the title of my book. It is a very exciting book. It keeps you on the edge of your seat. This is a great book for people who like mystery books. The main character is Mary, she goes to the Ridley Hotel and a famous mystery writer come to the hotel with her actors and re-acts the murder. They are having a murder-mystery weekend at the hotel. Mary is excited; she gets to play the part where she has found a "dead body" in room 1927. But in the middle of their game they discover a real murder has went on. Mary is a clumsy teen that everyone enjoys being around. She loves mystery's, they way she solves this mystery is she has a little help from the ghost who coincidently inhabits the room where the murder took place. The plot has lots of twist an turns. The readers may find them selves confused when the imaginary murder and the real murder merge together.
simply00complex on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Joan Lowery Nixon's books are either murder mystery or ghost story. This was both. Someone was murdered in a haunted hotel suite and the two were separate mysteries. This book had a good premise but it was not delivered as well as it could have been. My advice is to skip this one.
sports-star on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is definatly 5 star. Liz is working her summer job at the Ridly Hotel when they held a murder mystery weekend. that is a fake murder that people try to solve. When Liz goes into the scene of the crime she finds a real murdered body on the floor. While investigating, she finds out there is a ghostin the murder room. How Liz solves this scary murder is a very good part of the book.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
With the books I read so far by her, you start to like them but then find you're already getting near the end and want more. This one is no exception. I was like, oh already wrapping up, okay then. It seems Mary Elizabeth should be a detective or assistant to Jarvis or something, shouldn't she? What with being entangled in yet another one and Jarvis being the one to solve it right? The title around sums up what this one's about. A murder mystery weekend, in theme to Clue and all the other shows or movies with a similar premise. One that comes to mind was that Golden Girls episode. Anyway, this one was pretty good, more like 3.5 though. Not bad or anything but still pretty good. And Fran can be adorable and supportive at times. Though I like first book better, more for the sort of creepy atmosphere? At times however it can get a little corny. Still, these are fun reads none the less.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a very surprising book. It had twists abd turns that keep you on the edgeof your seat. At first,you might think 'Man,this book is not all that. It's just to normal.' But, as you read on you find that this book is very surprising and full of mystery adventure and surprises. although this book starts out plain, it gets more and more intersting, to the point where you're at the edge of your seat. That is why i gave this book 4 1/2 stars out of 5.Joan Lowery-Nixon really did do an amazing job.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is well thought out! There was just the right amount of terror a mystery book could have! Liz works at the Ridly Hotel and something is happening is the room 1327! To find out more read the book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a suspenseful thriller that never lets you put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book for an English report. Before I read i, I didn't know what kind of genres I enjoyed. My teacher recomended this book for me. I want to read more of Nixon's books. In my opinion she is a very talented author! I would like to read 'The Dark and Deadly Pool' next and add to my collection!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is another great book by Joan Lowery Nixon..I really loved this book!!! i read it cover to cover in a day and a half!! i recommend it to anyone who likes murder/mysteries!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best murder mysteries I have read (and i have read plenty of them!). Joan Lowery Nixon did it again! I could not for the life of me put it down until I had read it cover to cover-- twice!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I believe this book was amazing! The author captures everything we as humans fear into this book and it makes you turn the pages! I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good mystery!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I THINK THAT NIXON IS THE BEST MURDER-MYSTERY NOVEL WRITER THERE IS! I'VE READ ABOUT 1/4 OF HER BOOKS PUBLISHED (ONES AVAILABLE IN THE SCHOOL LIBRARY).