We Love Disney

We Love Disney


$16.66 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


Messing with the classics can be risky, since listeners inevitably bring their own experiences and emotions to each aural memory. Just ask anyone who can sing "Hakuna Matata" on the spot or remembers hearing "A Whole New World" for the first time in a theater. Because Disney animated movies are a part of many folks' lives, they're guaranteed to be different, but hold an equally important place in each heart, and that's the case for these artists. On We Love Disney, a glittering marquee of contemporary talent tackle their favorite Disney songs, putting their own stylistic spin on things. Results fall into one of two categories (both of which are good): The best versions transform the originals into new creations that could stand alone without the burden of cultural memory. The rest fall into a generally pleasant but otherwise "cover versions" slot: a slightly unnecessary, but nonetheless enjoyable retooling. The Mouse House knows what it's doing, as each track is expertly executed. The selections span generations -- from Cinderella (1950) to Frozen (2014) -- over six decades of princesses, anthropomorphic critters, and literary favorites. Ne-Yo, Charles Perry, and Fall Out Boy offer exhilaratingly rousing takes on already rowdy jams (Aladdin's "Friend Like Me," The Aristocats' "Ev'rybody Wants to Be a Cat," and The Jungle Book's "I Wan'na Be Like You," respectively), bringing jazzy swing and rollicking rockabilly to the party. Album highlights include major transformations of hitherto precious moments. Jessie J's take on Ariel's "Part of Your World" is, simply put, a stunner, infusing the original with depth and yearning. Gwen Stefani's "The Rainbow Connection" is a warm and adorable throwback to classy jazz standards, while Jhene Aiko's sultry, slow jam mash-up of Alice in Wonderland's "In a World of My Own/Very Good Advice" morphs the track into an alt-soul gem, complete with expert sampling of the original cartoon. Lucy Hale and Rascal Flatts' take on Frozen's "Let It Go" seems very unnecessary, considering the original was still in the popular consciousness at the time of this release. Kacey Musgrave's playful "A Spoonful of Sugar" retains the zaniness of the Mary Poppins original, but doesn't alter it much. Surprisingly, two of the bigger names on the album -- Jason Derulo and Ariana Grande -- provide faithful renditions, but compared to some of the other surprisingly refreshing revisits on the album, they get lost in the shuffle. And that speaks to the strength of the contributions overall. If a pair of superstars can be outshined by less well-known upstarts (Charles Perry, Tori Kelly), it's a solid collection that'll reignite more than a few happy memories. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 10/30/2015
Label: Verve
UPC: 0602547459602
catalogNumber: 002361602
Rank: 2450


  1. Friend Like Me
  2. Part Of Your World
  3. Can You Feel The Love Tonight/Nants' Ingonyama
  4. The Rainbow Connection
  5. Zero To Hero
  6. In A World Of My Own/Very Good Advice
  7. I Wan'na Be Like You (The Monkey Song)
  8. Colors Of The Wind
  9. A Spoonful Of Sugar
  10. Ev’rybody Wants To Be A Cat
  11. A Dream Is A Wish Your Heart Makes
  12. Let It Go
  13. It's A Small World

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Brian Bromberg   Bass
Bob Sheppard   Saxophone
David Foster   Piano,Keyboards
Bucky Baxter   Steel Guitar
Richard Bullock   Trombone
Vinnie Colaiuta   Drums
Jeff Driskill   Saxophone
Nathan East   Bass
Larry Franklin   Fiddle
Dan Higgins   Saxophone
Ron King   Trumpet
Sal Lozano   Saxophone
Andy Martin   Trombone
Bob McChesney   Trombone
Dean Parks   Guitar
Tom Peterson   Saxophone
Kenny Sears   Fiddle
Hugh Webb   Harp
Wayne Bergeron   Trumpet
Steve Genewick   Horn Engineer
Jay DeMarcus   Bass,Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Fred Eltringham   Percussion,Drums
Gavin Greenaway   Conductor
Jim Riley   Drums
Joe Don Rooney   Guitar
Ilya Toshinsky   Mandolin,Acoustic Bass
Andy Leftwich   Fiddle
Courtney Blooding   Spoken Word
Tim Davis   Conductor,Choir Conductor
Alex Iles   Trombone
Jochem van der Saag   Synthesizer
Jeff Taylor   Accordion
Jonathan Martin Berry   Guitar
Daniel Fornero   Trumpet
Kyle Ryan   Ukulele,Background Vocals
Adam Keafer   Upright Bass
Tearce "Kizzo" Keaz   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Kye Palmer   Trumpet
Misa Arriaga   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Julian Le   Keyboards
Julian-Quan Viet Le   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Elton John   Composer
David Foster   Arranger,Producer,Executive Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,Orchestral Arrangements
Kenny Ascher   Composer
Howard Ashman   Composer
Sammy Fain   Composer
Dan Higgins   String Arrangements
Bob Hilliard   Composer
Nick Lane   Engineer
Jerry Livingston   Composer
Alan Menken   Composer
John Oreshnick   Drum Technician
Richard M. Sherman   Composer
Robert B. Sherman   Composer
Paul Williams   Composer
Hans Zimmer   Composer
David Zippel   Composer
Tim Rice   Composer
Lebo M.   Composer
William Ross   Orchestral Arrangements
Doug Boehm   Engineer
Rinker   Composer
Steve Genewick   Engineer
Anabel Sinn   Art Direction
Jay DeMarcus   Producer
Chris Walden   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Hoffman   Composer
Mack David   Composer
Everton Nelson   Orchestra Leader
Stephen Schwartz   Composer
Shane McAnally   Producer,Vocal Producer
Fall Out Boy   Instrumentation
Jorge Vivo   Engineer
Floyd Huddleston   Composer
Sean Neff   Engineer
Patrick Stump   Producer
David Huff   Pro-Tools
Robert Lopez   Composer
Bryan Todd   Arranger,Programming
Jonathan Allen   Engineer
Gina Zimmitti   Horn Conductor
Kacey Musgraves   Producer,Vocal Producer,Whistle
Luke Laird   Producer,Vocal Producer
Ryan Gore   overdub engineer,Vocal Engineer,Assistant Tracking Engineer
Tim Davis   Choir Arrangement,Choir Contractor
Jochem van der Saag   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Sound Design
Fisticuffs   Producer
Tom Freitag   Assistant Tracking Engineer
Adam Keafer   Whistle
Tearce "Kizzo" Keaz   Programming,Producer,Sound Design
Freddy Wexler   Vocal Producer
Kristen Anderson-Lopez   Composer
Suzy Shinn   Engineer
Lawrence Anslow   Pro-Tools
Misa Arriaga   Whistle
Jo Changer   Assistant Contractor
Olivier Bassil   Orchestration
Nick Rives   Pro-Tools
Mike Rittberg   Executive Producer
Julian Le   Producer
Marc Davis   Inspiration,Drawing
Julian-Quan Viet Le   Producer

Customer Reviews