We Are the South: Greatest Hits

We Are the South: Greatest Hits

by Eightball & MJGEightball & MJG


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


By the time the first legitimate 8Ball & MJG compilation, We Are the South, dropped, the Memphis, TN duo had spent four years off the Koch-distributed Suave House label, having signed to Diddy's Bad Boy imprint in 2004. This 2008 release features no Bad Boy material -- meaning later hits like "You Don't Want Drama," "Straight Cadillac Pimpin," and "Relax and Take Notes" are absent -- but it does a fine job covering their colder, harder, and earlier years by rounding up classics like "Space Age Pimpin," "Pimp in My Own Rhyme," and "Don't Flex," along with their strongest album cuts. Nothing new here save a dramatic, rightfully boastful intro so longtime fans need not worry unless they're looking for a compact, highlight-filled mixtape. This collection is more for the newcomer or anyone who questions the veteran -- 15 years and runnin' -- duo's claim to be "Living Legends."

Product Details

Release Date: 05/13/2008
Label: Koch Records
UPC: 0099923507826
catalogNumber: 5078
Rank: 54870

Album Credits

Performance Credits

8ball & MJG   Primary Artist
Preston Crump   Bass
MJG   Keyboards
Rodney Ellis   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Slice Tee   Producer
Bernasky Wall   Engineer
Tony Draper   Executive Producer
James Endsley   Executive Producer
Jazze Pha   Producer
André Benjamin   Composer
Thomas Burton   Composer
Antwan Patton   Composer
David Sheats   Composer
Rich "Richkidd" Daniels   Marketing
Marlon Goodwin   Composer
E. Stevenson   Composer
P. Alexander   Composer
O. Jackson   Composer
S. Arrington   Composer
W. Rogers   Composer
L. Blackmon   Composer

Customer Reviews