War Stories [Japan Bonus Tracks]

War Stories [Japan Bonus Tracks]


CD(Bonus Tracks)

$39.89 $41.99 Save 5% Current price is $39.89, Original price is $41.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 27
2 New & Used Starting at $24.20


James Lavelle's UNKLE project has offered virtually everything to its fans and the listening public -- virtually everything, except for great music. UNKLE full-lengths seem primed to make a major impact on music and culture. They're packed with high concept, dense with thematic elements ripped from the headlines (especially the war in Iraq), and this time out, including an artwork-packed booklet (featuring Massive Attack's Robert del Naja, Ben Drury, and Will Bankhead). The fact that the music has never fulfilled its expectations, despite the undeniable talents of everyone involved, points to a too-many-cooks problem. War Stories finds the group, a core duo of Lavelle and Richard File, enlisting major production help from Chris Goss. Goss' work with Masters of Reality and Kyuss made the California/Arizona desert a haven for progressive metal, and its influence is all over this record. Fellow desert rat Josh Homme reprises his role from the last UNKLE full length, along with del Naja (as 3D), indie rockers Autolux, English neo-garage band the Duke Spirit, and finally, Ian Astbury (like Lavelle, another Englishman apparently fascinated with the American Southwest). Astbury's vocals on "Burn My Shadow" and "When Things Explode" make for a pair of highlights; they're one of the few points on War Stories when a hint of personality threatens to overwhelm the many tenebrous guitars and gloomy, plaintive vocals. Newcomer Gavin Clark also shines as a stand-in for Jeff Buckley, but amid the many features and incredible dynamism that mark every UNKLE full-length, there are no songs to grab onto and little of real essence.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/24/2007
Label: Traffic Japan
UPC: 4571260580053
catalogNumber: 5
Rank: 79980

Album Credits

Performance Credits

UNKLE   Primary Artist
Ian Astbury   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Shaker
Carla Azar   Drums,Glockenspiel,Vocals
Chris Goss   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Synthesizer Bass
Dan Higgins   Guitar,Harmonium
Josh Homme   Bass,Guitar,Vocals
Brian O'Connor   Bass
Lucy Wilkins   Banjo
Neil Davidge   Vocals,Sampling
Calina de la Mare   Banjo
James Lavelle   Organ,Vocals,Background Vocals,Bells,Group Member
Matthew Caws   Guitar
Dave Catching   Guitar,Piano
Alice Temple   Vocals
Lee Gorton   Vocals
Richard File   Organ,Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Glockenspiel,Theremin,Background Vocals,Synthesizer Strings,Group Member
James Book   Bass
Brett Shaw   Drums
Pablo Clements   Synthesizer,Background Vocals
Eugene Goreshter   Bass,Keyboards,Vocals
Liela Moss   Harmonium,Vocals
Luke Ford   Guitar
Ali Love   Guitar
Gavin Clark   Vocals
Oliver Betts   Drums

Technical Credits

Chris Goss   Producer
Neil Davidge   Programming,Engineer,drum machine
Robert "3D" del Naja   Paintings
James Lavelle   Art Direction
Ben Drury   Art Direction,Paintings
Richard File   Programming,Engineer,Logistics
James Book   Programming,Logistics
Pablo Clements   Programming,Engineer,Logistics
Autolux   Composer
Duke Spirit   Composer
Chris Allen   Programming,Engineer,Logistics

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews