Walter Dean Myers

Walter Dean Myers

by Myrna Dee Marler

NOOK Book(eBook)

$39.49 $45.00 Save 12% Current price is $39.49, Original price is $45. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Walter Dean Myers, acclaimed author of African American books for children and young adults, published his first book, "Where Does the Day Go?" in 1969. He is most widely known for his coming-of-age novels including the Newbery Honor books Scorpions (1989) and Somewhere in the Darkness (1993). A prolific author of both fiction and nonfiction, novels and historical works examined here include Fallen Angels, The Glory Field, Monster, and Shooters. Myers has written over 70 books, the most recent also illustrated by his son Christopher. He volunteers at local schools to encourage students in their reading and writing.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780313055720
Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group, Incorporated
Publication date: 05/30/2008
Series: Teen Reads: Student Companions to Young Adult Literature Series
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 387 KB

About the Author

Myrna Dee Marler is an associate professor of English at Brigham Young University, Hawaii campus.

Table of Contents

Series Foreword   James B. Blasingame     VII
Preface     IX
Acknowledgments     XV
His Life So Far: Harlem, Family, English Teachers, and Basketball     1
The Giver That Keeps on Giving     19
A Happy Accident: Writing for Young Adults-Attracting Readers with Humor, Suspense, Adventure, and Friendship     39
Basketball and the Game of Life     67
African Americans in American History     91
The Living Room War     119
"It's a Jungle Out There"     145
Do You Know Who You Are?     163
Bibliography     191
Index     197

Customer Reviews