Waiting for a Miracle: Singles 1970-1987

Waiting for a Miracle: Singles 1970-1987

by Bruce CockburnBruce Cockburn


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 21


Waiting for a Miracle, with two discs spanning 33 songs, is the third and by far most comprehensive of three Bruce Cockburn retrospectives released in a six-year period. Still, because it's centered around his Canadian singles, it lacks the sort of impact a best-of collection should have from someone such as Cockburn, who could never be mistaken for a "singles" artist. On the other hand, if you're looking for an overview of his career, Waiting for a Miracle, which also has a sprinkling of new songs and alternate takes to lure fans, isn't a bad place to start. The chronological order of the tracks makes it easy to see the progression of his career, from mystic folky, to outspoken, left-wing, worldbeat rocker. It also shows Cockburn's growth as both a writer and performer, although the choices included here from his early records are good ones. Waiting for a Miracle may not be a perfect representation of Cockburn's work, but until something better comes along, it will have to do.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/22/2006
Label: True North
UPC: 0620638006726
catalogNumber: 6700
Rank: 29975


Disc 1

  1. Going to the Country
  2. Musical Friends
  3. One Day I Walk
  4. It's Going Down Slow
  5. Up on This Hillside
  6. Feet Fall on the Road
  7. Mama Just Wants to Barrelhouse All Night Long
  8. All the Diamonds in the World
  9. Burn
  10. Silver Wheels
  11. I'm Gonna Fly Some Day
  12. Vagabondage
  13. Free to Be
  14. Laughter
  15. Wondering Where the Lions Are
  16. Tokyo
  17. Facist Architecture
  18. The Trouble With Normal

Disc 2

  1. Rumours of Glory
  2. The Coldest Night of the Year
  3. Wanna Go Walking
  4. You Pay Your Money and You Take Your Chance
  5. Tropic Moon
  6. Candy Man's Gone
  7. Lovers in a Dangerous Time
  8. If I Had a Rocket Launcher
  9. Making Contact
  10. Peggy's Kitchen Wall
  11. People See Through You
  12. Call It Democracy
  13. See How I Miss You
  14. Stolen Land
  15. Waiting for a Miracle

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bruce Cockburn   Primary Artist,Dulcimer,Bass,Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Bass Drums,Vocals,Background Vocals
Tim Ryan   Background Vocals
Tommy Graham   Background Vocals
Murray McLauchlan   Background Vocals
Hugh Marsh   Violin
Leroy Sibbles   Background Vocals
Memo Acevedo   Percussion
Bob Boucher   Bass
Bob Disalle   Drums
Michel Donato   Bass
Vern Dorge   Horn
Jon Goldsmith   Piano,Keyboards
Jerry Johnson   Horn
Fergus Marsh   Stick
Gene Martynec   Synthesizer,Guitar
Kathryn Moses   Reeds,Piccolo,Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Background Vocals
Marty Nagler   Background Vocals
Dennis Pendrith   Bass
Colina Phillips   Background Vocals
Carole Pope   Background Vocals
Michel Pouliot   Drums
John Savage   Drums
Chi Sharp   Percussion
Larry Silvera   Bass,Background Vocals
Michael Sloski   Drums
Rick Tait   Horn
Brently Titcomb   Background Vocals
Bill Usher   Percussion
Sharon Williams   Background Vocals
Mose Scarlett   Background Vocals
Joel Feeney   Background Vocals
Paul Henderson   Background Vocals
Shingoose   Background Vocals
Bruce Anthony   Synthesizer,Guitar
Judy Cade   Background Vocals
Benbow   Drums,Background Vocals
Fred Stone   Flugelhorn
Luke Gibson   Background Vocals
Mike Malone   Horn
Jeffrey Crelingston   Background Vocals
Alexa de Wiel   Background Vocals
Bart Schoales   Descant
Shawne Jackson   Background Vocals
Michael White   Trumpet
John Davis   Organ
Dick Smith   Percussion
Terry Clarke   Drums

Technical Credits

Bruce Cockburn   Composer,Producer
Kerry Crawford   Producer
Michael Duncan   Engineer
Bernie Finkelstein   Producer
Ken Friesen   Engineer
Jon Goldsmith   Producer
Gary Gray   Engineer
Bill House   Producer
Gene Martynec   Producer
John Naslen   Engineer
Bill Seddon   Engineer
Rob Yale   Programming
Henry Saskowski   Engineer
Bart Schoales   Art Direction
Robert Davidson   Cover Painting

Customer Reviews