Waco: A Survivor's Story

Waco: A Survivor's Story


$13.99 $16.99 Save 18% Current price is $13.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 18%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The basis of the celebrated Paramount Network miniseries starring Michael Shannon and Taylor Kitsch — Waco is the critically-acclaimed, first person account of the siege by Branch Davidian survivor, David Thibodeau.

Twenty-five years ago, the FBI staged a deadly raid on the Branch Davidian compound in Waco. Texas. David Thibodeau survived to tell the story.

When he first met the man who called himself David Koresh, David Thibodeau was a drummer in a local a rock band. Though he had never been religious in the slightest, Thibodeau gradually became a follower and moved to the Branch Davidian compound in Waco. He remained there until April 19, 1993, when the compound was stormed and burned to the ground after a 51-day standoff with government authorities.

In this compelling account — now with an updated epilogue that revisits remaining survivors—Thibodeau explores why so many people came to believe that Koresh was divinely inspired. We meet the men, women, and children of Mt. Carmel. We get inside the day-to-day life of the community. We also understand Thibodeau's brutally honest assessment of the United States government's actions. The result is a memoir that reads like a thriller, with each page taking us closer to the eventual inferno.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781602865730
Publisher: Hachette Books
Publication date: 01/02/2018
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 21,530
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

David Thibodeau was born and raised in Maine. He is one of only four Branch Davidians who survived the Waco, Texas massacre who was not sentenced to prison. Over the twenty-five years since, David has lived in Los Angeles, Austin, and currently lives in Bangor, Maine, where he continues his life as a drummer and entrepreneur.

Coauthor Leon Whiteson was a Zimbabwean architect-turned-critic and novelist. He died in 2013 at age 82. Whiteson is survived by his wife — author Aviva Layton — who has written the updated epilogue with David Thibodeau for this new edition.

Aviva Layton earned a BA from Sydney University, an MA from University of Montreal, and a PhD from York University, Toronto. She is the author of a novel, a biography, and several award-winning children's books, and is now a full-time literary editor.

Table of Contents

Prologue: This Could Be the Day That I Die vii

Book I A Sense of Community

1 A Galaxy Far Away 3

2 The Man and the Music 15

3 Coming to the Mountain 23

4 Edging Toward Belief 41

5 Slipping Through the Fence 59

6 The Withering Experience 71

7 Temptations 89

8 On Rape, Abuse, and Guns 103

Book II Prelude to a Holocaust

9 Visions and Omens 129

10 Showtime 151

11 Aftershock 175

12 No Surrender, No Quarter 189

13 Ranch Apocalypse 211

Book III Life as a Survivor

14 "Are You Comin' to Kill Me?" 233

15 Half-Truths and Outright Lies 255

16 Ignorant Questions 265

17 Afterlife 285

18 Climbing the Mountain 301

19 Back to the Future 323

20 The Double Helix 335

Epilogue 343

Special Thanks and Acknowledgments 353

Appendix: The Mount Carmel Community: The Living and the Dead 357

Index 363

Customer Reviews