Vision of the Griffin's Heart: Teen & Young Adult Epic Fantasy with a Griffin

Vision of the Griffin's Heart: Teen & Young Adult Epic Fantasy with a Griffin

by L. R. W. Lee

Paperback

$12.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 27

Overview

Will Andy overcome impossible odds or will Abaddon prevail?


The evil Abbadon, king of Oomladee's northern neighbor Hadession, steps up his attacks on Andy and Mom at home in Lakehills, TX over the next year, unnerving Andy as he overhears speculation that Methuselah may no longer be able to defeat this nemesis.

Andy arrives back in Oomaldee and receives a clue for the fifth ingredient needed for the curse-breaking potion, the claw of a griffin. There's one not-so-small problem however--griffins don't take kindly to humans.

The Andy Smithson series is a coming-of-age, epic fantasy adventure featuring fast-paced action, sword fights, laugh-out-loud humor, with a few life lessons thrown in. It's perfect for fans of Eragon, Fablehaven, Percy Jackson, Magemother, and Aster Wood!

Scroll up and buy this book now!

"This book is my new favorite of the series. Once I got halfway through it I couldn't put it down!" - Hannah Miles, Reviewer

"Another page turner from L R W Lee!" - JED, Reviewer

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781522701507
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 12/31/2015
Series: Andy Smithson , #5
Pages: 206
Sales rank: 383,363
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.44(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Vision of the Griffin's Heart: Teen & Young Adult Epic Fantasy with a Griffin 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
HomeSchoolBookReview More than 1 year ago
What does the Cowardly Lion from The Wizard of Oz have to do with Andy Smithson? Andy, who turns fourteen during the course of this book, lives in Lakehills, TX, with his dad, mom, and sister Madison. He is also the heir to the kingdom of Oomaldee which was put under a curse when the present King Hercalon V, who is now over 500 years old, stabbed his own sister Imogenia so that he could take the throne. One of Andy’s jobs is to collect the ingredients for a potion to break the curse. However, there is another problem. The evil Abbadon, king of Oomaldee's northern neighbor Hadession, is trying to conquer the entire region. Abbadon steps up his attacks on Andy and his mom at home over the period of a year. Then, when Andy arrives back in Oomaldee, he learns that his special sword Methuselah may no longer be able to defeat his nemesis. Still, Andy receives a clue for the fifth ingredient needed for the curse-breaking potion, the black claw of a griffin. One not-so-small problem is that griffins guard the land of Carta's gold and silver mines and don't take kindly to humans. He also finds out that restoring the various kingdoms’ centers of power might help stop Abaddon. While Andy and his friends are away in Carta, Abaddon captures the castle in Oomaldee, and the effectiveness of the strikes which defeat the military's planned counter measures shows evidence that the enemy is getting inside information. Could there a spy in their midst? What can Andy do about the situation? And will he find the ingredient? There are a few childish slang terms but no bad language. It is said once that “Andy silently cursed” the sky, but no actual curse words are used, and Andy’s “inneru” (conscience) says, “Watch your mouth.” As the age of Andy increases, so does the age of his intended readers. Some parents may feel that a few of the descriptions, such as the ride on the griffins, the air battle with the zolt, and the fighting at Castle Avalon, could be a little intense for younger readers. Also, a bit of innocent, typical, adolescent boy-girl activity, such as kissing, begins to occur. However, none of this involves anything that is inappropriate or objectionable. One of the admirable qualities that I like about the entire series is seeing Andy’s growth from a self-absorbed kid to a more thoughtful teen as he learns how to deal with the various crises which face him and prepares himself eventually to become king, all the while knowing that the future may hold some very unpleasant consequences. The watchword for Vision of the Griffin's Heart is “courage.” One final warning—it ends very much up in the air so as to keep the reader’s interest at attention for the next installment.
closkot More than 1 year ago
My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 Unicorns - I loved it!!! ***Received the ebook in exchange for an honest review The cover is amazing!! I love it, and it is perfect for the book! This is the 5th book in the series and over 200 pages of awesomeness! This is a teen book! While you probably could get away with reading the books out of order, I do not recommend it! Your journey will be so much more if you read them in order because they all refer back to previous events, and it makes the characters and world that much more fantastic! L.R.W. Lee does a fantastic job hitting on topics that parents and teachers alike struggle with when it comes to our kids. I don’t want to give anything away though. She makes it real because everything is not perfect, and bad things do happen. The characters struggle to get through things especially Andy, and he makes mistakes like a typical human. This book is definitely an emotional rollercoaster, and I did shed tears. This is a great series that I highly recommend! Eventually, I will collect them all for my classroom because I think they can get something out of the books and enjoy it!!! I really want more like NOW, but sigh, I have to wait!