Victory Lap

Victory Lap

by Nipsey HussleNipsey Hussle


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


After years of buildup, South Central rapper Nipsey Hussle issued his major-label debut, Victory Lap. Featuring a throwback G-funk sound improved by modern production, the set was produced by Nipsey, his brother Samiel Asghedom, "Steve-O" Carless, Mike & Keys, Murda Beatz, and more. Growing an audience over years of independent grassroots self-promotion, Nipsey's first official full-length is a triumph for the artist, recruiting an impressive roster of guests without sacrificing his uncompromising street realness. Bleeding authenticity, the Slauson Ave. soldier remains aggressive on the booming "Rap Niggas" and YG collaboration "Last Time That I Checc'd," boasting of his self-made success. On "Dedication," Nipsey trades verses with Kendrick Lamar, declaring himself "2pac of my generation" as the pair reflect on how far they've come despite the odds. That sentiment is woven throughout Victory Lap, highlighted on the intense "Blue Laces 2"; the autobiographical "Grinding All My Life"; and the poignant "Real Big," which outlines his lifetime of struggle, providing an uplifting example for the streets. Guest vocalists Stacy Barthe, Buddy, The-Dream, and CeeLo Green provide additional soul to balance Nipsey's tough bars, while Diddy plays hype man on "Young Nigga" and Konshens delivers a song-stealing performance on the thrilling "Succa Proof." After an assertive first half, the album smooths out toward the end, developing a thoughtful and reflective depth. It's a satisfying journey that rides the strength of Nipsey's deft flow and no-nonsense lyrics. Victory Lap is not just a celebration from the scrappy MC: it's a deserved moment marking his journey from Crenshaw to the majors. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 02/16/2018
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678659034
catalogNumber: 565429
Rank: 13612

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nipsey Hussle   Primary Artist
Dave Forman   Guitar
DJ Battlecat   Talk Box
David Wade   Vocals
J-Black   Vocals
Brian Morgan   Vocals
Konshens   Vocals
Stacy Barthe   Vocals
Uncle Chucc   Guitar
Lauren London   Vocals
Brody Brown   Keyboards
Doc Allison   Strings,Cello
Garnett Flynn   scratching
Rebekah Muhammad   Background Vocals
Garren Edwards   Vocals
Rance   Keyboards
Alexandria Dopson   Vocals,Background Vocals
Eric Choice   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Curtis Mayfield   Composer
Mark James   Composer
Sean "Puffy" Combs   Composer
Willie Hutch   Composer
Christian Jones   Composer
Jonathan King   Composer
Charles Strouse   Composer
Jeremy Brown   Engineer
Cee Lo Green   Composer
Elgin Lumpkin   Composer
Shawn Carter   Composer
Tim Mosley   Composer
Robert Reives   Composer
Lamar Edwards   Composer
Axel Morgan   Composer
DJ Khalil   Producer
Larrance Dopson   Composer,Producer
Jake One   Producer
Leroy Williams   Composer
Alex Turner   Composer
Nipsey Hussle   Producer
Street Symphony   Producer
Torrance Esmond   Composer
G. Koop   Producer
Stacy Barthe   Composer
Tarik Johnston   Engineer
Askia Fountain   Composer
Christopher Brody Brown   Composer
Jake Dutton   Composer
Brody Brown   Additional Production
Roger Butler   Programming,Engineer
Jacob Dutton   Composer
Terius Nash   Composer
Jaret Griffin-Black   Composer
Rob Mandell   Composer
Kendrick Duckworth   Composer
Matty Rich   Engineer
Rob Gold   Art Manager
Martin Charmin   Composer
Virgilio Tzaj   Art Direction
Michael Cox   Composer
Ermias Asghedom   Composer,Executive Producer
Sap   Producer
PartyNextDoor   Composer
Garfield Spence   Composer
Matt Schaeffer   Engineer
Shane Lindstrom   Composer
Maurice David Wade   Composer
Steve Carless   Executive Producer
Lee   Producer
Garnett Flynn   Composer,Engineer
Rebekah Muhammad   Composer
Ethan Stevens   Engineer
Amaire Johnson   Composer,Producer,Additional Music
Mike & Keys   Producer,Bass Arrangement,Additional Production
Teddy Walton   Composer,Producer
Khalil Abdul-Rahman   Composer
Simmie Sims   Composer
Matt Jacobson   Mixing Advisor
Murda Beatz   Producer
Braylin Bowman   Composer
D.O. Speaks   Producer
James Groover   Composer
Mario "Wizzo" Fernandez   Engineer
Derrick Okoth   Composer
Stephen Donelson   Executive Producer
Joshua Henderson   Composer
Jaire Kwayera Clarence Lewis   Composer
Zairyus Jackson   Composer
Kacey Khalil   Additional Production
Joshua Conerly   Composer
Rance   Producer,Additional Production
Ralo Stylez   Producer,Engineer
My Guy Mars   Producer,Additional Production
Axel Folie   Producer
Alexandria Dopson   Composer
Keenan Jackson   Composer
Samiel Asghedom   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews