Pub. Date:
Very Best of Canned Heat [EMI]

Very Best of Canned Heat [EMI]

by Canned HeatCanned Heat


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, October 1


Formed by three avid blues record collectors, Canned Heat reformatted the sound of those beloved old 78s into ragged electric guitar boogies that fit the gestalt of the Woodstock generation. Guitarist and harmonica player Alan Wilson, singer Bob Hite, and guitarist Henry Vestine took their record collecting seriously, lifting the quill section from Texas songster Henry Thomas' 1920s recording of "Bull Doze Blues" note for note to form the intro to "Going Up the Country," one of Canned Heat's most enduring songs. "Going Up the Country" is included here, along with the band's other radio hits, "On the Road Again" and "Let's Work Together," and key album tracks, including the indulgent 20-minute epic "Parthenogenesis." At its best, Canned Heat translated an enthusiasm for old blues into a bright, radio-friendly history lesson, and at its worst, it collapsed into being just another white blues boogie band. Examples of both are found here.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/30/2001
Label: Emd Int'l
UPC: 0724352677825
catalogNumber: 526778
Rank: 34171


  1. On the Road Again
  2. Amphetamine Annie
  3. My Crime
  4. Time Was
  5. Going Up the Country
  6. Sugar Bee
  7. Whiskey Headed Woman
  8. Bullfrog Blues
  9. Let's Work Together
  10. World in a Jug
  11. Fried Hockey Boogie
  12. Rollin' and Tumblin'
  13. I'm Her Man
  14. Dust My Broom
  15. Parthenogenesis: Nebulosity/Rollin' and Tumblin'/Five Owls/Bear Wires

Album Credits

Customer Reviews