B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Very Best of Buddy Holly [MCA International]

Very Best of Buddy Holly [MCA International]

by Buddy Holly Buddy Holly




Buddy Holly was just 22 years old when he died in a plane crash on February 3, 1959, a mere three years after he cut his first record, and in that brief amount of time, he wrote some of the greatest and most enduring songs in the history of rock & roll. 35 classic performances are collected on The Very Best of Buddy Holly, a set that features most of Holly's biggest hits ("Peggy Sue," "That'll Be the Day," "Rave On," "Maybe Baby," "Well, All Right") as well as some lesser-known classics ("Learning the Game," "Take Your Time," "Listen to Me," "Love's Made a Fool of You"), and a few choice covers ("Baby, I Don't Care," Brown Eyed Handsome Man," "Bo Diddley"). The set list covers the breadth of Holly's career, from his first recordings in Nashville to his final sessions in New York City, and Holly's sincere but passionate vocals and his impressive guitar work shine through on every track. While not every memorable tune in Holly's repertoire is featured here, the scope of this single-disc compilation is impressive, and it's difficult to imagine another single figure in rock history who produced this much great music in less than 36 months; calling this the definitive Buddy Holly collection is going too far to make a point, but if you only want to own one disc's worth of his music, The Very Best of Buddy Holly is a genuinely fine choice.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/10/2004
Label: Mca Uk
UPC: 0008811204624
catalogNumber: 112046
Rank: 5677


  1. Heartbreak
  2. That'll Be the Day
  3. Peggy Sue
  4. Oh, Boy!
  5. Rave On
  6. Think It Over
  7. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  8. Love's Made a Fool of You
  9. True Love Ways
  10. Raining in My Heart
  11. Everyday
  12. Wishing
  13. It's So Easy
  14. Listen to Me
  15. It Doesn't Matter Anymore
  16. Words of Love
  17. I'm Gonna Love You Too
  18. Well...All Right
  19. Bo Diddley
  20. Blue Suede Shoes
  21. Shake Rattle and Roll
  22. What to Do
  23. Midnight Shift
  24. Love Is Strange
  25. Crying, Waiting, Hoping
  26. Peggy Sue Got Married
  27. Maybe Baby
  28. Early in the Morning
  29. Baby I Don't Care
  30. Reminiscing
  31. Valley of Tears
  32. Learning the Game
  33. Look at Me
  34. Fools Paradise
  35. Take Your Time
  36. [Untitled Track]

Album Credits

Customer Reviews