by André PrevinAndré Previn




This was André Previn's second album after his long, symphonically enforced absence from jazz, and it sounds noticeably more fluid and relaxed than his first. No longer apprehensive about dusting off his old skills, Previn is delightfully confident and breezy (dig his sly turns on "Come Rain or Come Shine" and "C Jam Blues"), taking some chances as he re-phrases and paraphrases a collection of revivified standards, mostly Harold Arlen and assorted Duke Ellington. Even if Previn, that noted wit, sometimes sounds as if he is kidding the pants off these old tunes, it's great to hear him having such a good time playing jazz again. Mundell Lowe is Previn's new guitar partner, and Ray Brown returns on bass; both are right at home in this refined brand of chamber jazz grooving. Adding to the CD's appeal are some marvelously (and typically) graceful liner notes by Mel Powell, an old pal of Previn's and a lively fellow defector from the jazz piano ranks to the classical world.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/22/1990
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408330322
catalogNumber: 83303


  1. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
  2. A Sleepin' Bee
  3. Come Rain or Come Shine
  4. Stormy Weather
  5. Over the Rainbow
  6. Let's Fall in Love
  7. Day Dream/Prelude to a Kiss
  8. Good Queen Bess
  9. Things Ain't What They Used to Be
  10. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  11. Five O'Clock Whistle
  12. Come Sunday
  13. C Jam Blues

Album Credits

Customer Reviews