Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 13
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The idea came from Forever Einstein's Chuck Vrtacek: to put together an album of Cuneiform Records artists interpreting tunes from their label mates. Since the label had a pretty stable roster by 1994-1995, with most of them sharing some common musical aesthetics, the project has the possibility of being interesting. And it is. Unsettled Scores is not a compilation album or a label sampler. All tracks with the exception of one can't be find anywhere else (Volapük's rendition of Nick Didkovsky's "Three Curiously Insubstantial Duets No. 3" would later appear on their CD Slang!, along with No. 1 and 2). And yet, this is not an "unreleased material" patchwork: all tracks have been put together in 1994-1995, especially for the project, therefore one can feel the artistic cohesion of the whole. Ex-Soft Machine Hugh Hopper, Richard Pinhas, Doctor Nerve, and Univers Zéro all get tribute to the important place they hold in Cuneiform's catalogue. Some of the numerous highlights on Unsettled Scores include: Philarmonie's beautiful reading of Miriodor's "Transsibérien"; the latter's Present/Univers Zéro medley (including parts of "Promenade Au Fond D'un Canal" and "Heatwave"); a incredibly fast version of Daniel Denis' "Bulgarian Flying Spirit Dances," delivered by the prog-core Japanese outfit Happy Family; Djam Karet's spirited jam on Richard Pinhas' "Dedicated to K.C."; George Cartwright's jazzed-up take on Univers Zéro's "Complainte"; and finally an unreleased Univers Zéro piece completed by Nick Didkovsky (that one's a real treat!). Other renderers
enderees include Forever Einstein, The Muffins, Piero Milesi, David Borden, Birdsongs of the Mezosoic, Phil Miller, Henry Kaiser, U Totem, Virgil Moorefield, and Forrest Fang. Any fan of the Cuneiform roster will find something to like in here, but Univers Zéro aficionados will be particularly delighted.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/17/1995
Label: Cuneiform
UPC: 0045775007526
catalogNumber: 750075
Rank: 159653


  1. The True Wheelbase/Coco Boudakian [Medley]
  2. Hobart Got Burned
  3. Onde Crépusculaire
  4. Ubik
  5. Enfield in Summer
  6. Transsibérien
  7. Unna
  8. A Moral Dilemma for Our Times
  9. Promenade Sous Zéro
  10. Meccano Pelorus
  11. The March (Or Ornette Went to Cecil's House, But Left After About 10 ...)
  12. Bulgarian Flying Spirit Dances
  13. Dedicated to K.C.
  14. Pain Waits Till 5pm
  15. They Walk Among Us
  16. Miniluv
  17. Three Curiously Insubstantial Duets, No. III
  18. Summer Walk
  19. Piège
  20. Carousel, Dedicated to Hugh
  21. Get Moose and Squirrel
  22. She Wears Her Dead Mother's Hat
  23. Scene of the Madmen
  24. Dyed

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Djam Karet   Track Performer
Richard Pinhas   Synthesizer,Guitar
Kit Watkins   Keyboards,Sampling
Birdsongs of the Mesozoic   Track Performer
Henry Kaiser   Guitar
John Oswald   Alto Saxophone
Muffins   Track Performer
Tom Scott   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
Forever Einstein   Track Performer
Piero Milesi   Accordion,Keyboards,Bells
Phil Miller   Guitar
U Totem   Track Performer
Rebby Sharp   Guitar
Billy Swan   Bass
Miriodor   Track Performer
Michael Bierylo   Guitar,Percussion
Peter Frohmader   Track Performer
Happy Family   Track Performer
Erik Lindgren   Piano,Emax
Coco Roussel   Percussion,Snare Drums
David Borden   Keyboards,Korg,Casio
Gabriel Borden   Guitar
Scott Brazieal   Electric Piano
George Cartwright   Tenor Saxophone
Laurent Chalef   Guitar
Guigou Chenevier   Percussion,Machines
Herbert Diamant   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Nick Didkovsky   Electric Guitar
Jim Duckworth   Guitar
Forrest Fang   Mandolin,Sampling
Ken Field   Percussion,Saxophone
Pascal Globensky   Keyboards
Bruce Golden   Snare Drums
Greg Goodman   Piano
James Grigsby   Bass,Guitar
John Hanes   Snare Drums
Emily Hay   Flute,Vocals
Sabin Hudon   Accordion,Saxophone
Dave Kerman   Percussion
Jan Kuijken   Cello
Sanjay Kumar   Keyboards
Frederic L'Epée   Guitar
Rémi Leclerc   Percussion
John Livengood   Synthesizer
Dave Newhouse   Flute,Keyboards
Jim O'Rourke   Guitar
Gary Parra   Snare Drums
Bernard Ros   Guitar
John Roulat   Snare Drums
Paul Sears   Snare Drums
Guy Segers   Bass,Voices
Marc Sichel   Bass
Jim Spake   Baritone Saxophone
Roger Trigaux   Guitar,Percussion,Voices
Bobby Vega   Bass
C.W. Vrtacek   Synthesizer,Guitar,Piano,Casio,Telecaster
Marc Wagnon   Piano
Ellen Watkins   Guitar
Evans Wohlforth   Guitar
Virgil Moorefield   Snare Drums
Chuck Oken   Snare Drums
Gamble   Organ
Rattlemouth   Track Performer
Volapük   Track Performer
Pat Fleming   Trumpet
Bernard Falaise   Guitar
Gayle Ellett   Organ,Synthesizer,Sampling,E-bow,Guitar (7 String Electric)
Danny Finney   Saxophone
George Hoyt   Trombone
Henry J. Osborne   Electric Bass,Gong
Guillaume Saurel   Cello
Reginald Trigaux   Guitar,Percussion,Vocals
Barbara Cifelli   Alto Saxophone
Don Davis   Tenor Saxophone
Eric Johnson   Bassoon
Tim Otto   Tenor Saxophone
Mike Henderson   Guitar (Electronic)
Robbie Kinter   Snare Drums
Michel Mandel   Bass Clarinet
Rick Scott   Synthesizer,Percussion
Andy Kirk   Noise
Steve Gore   Snare Drums

Technical Credits

Richard Pinhas   Arranger
Kit Watkins   Producer,Engineer
Henry Kaiser   Producer
Piero Milesi   Arranger,Engineer
Phil Miller   Producer,Engineer
Erik Lindgren   drum machine
Coco Roussel   drum sequencing
David Borden   Engineer,Wavestation
Scott Brazieal   Arranger
George Cartwright   Arranger
Guigou Chenevier   Engineer
Oliver di Cicco   Engineer
Nick Didkovsky   Producer
Forrest Fang   Engineer,Feedback
Doug Gourlay   Engineer
Hugh Hopper   Contributor
Sabin Hudon   Engineer
Christian Jones   Engineer
Rusty McFarland   Engineer
Dave Newhouse   Arranger,Engineer
Frank Pahl   Engineer
C.W. Vrtacek   Engineer
Curt Wilson   Engineer
Scott Wolfe   Engineer
Virgil Moorefield   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Mick Cantarella   Engineer
Alex Noyes   Engineer
Steve Feigenbaum   Executive Producer
Ruth Peyser   Illustrations
Kitaguchi Takashi   Engineer
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews