Unlock Your Mind

Unlock Your Mind

by The Soul RebelsThe Soul Rebels


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


Described as "the missing link between Public Enemy and Louis Armstrong", the eight-piece Soul Rebels Brass Band have played a pivotal role in keeping the New Orleans jazz sound alive. Jazz purists may balk at the playful cover of Eurythmics' "Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)," which substitutes the original's pulsing electro beats and stark synths for some Latino percussion and vibrant reggae horns, and the laid-back A Tribe Called Quest-esque raps that permeate the likes of the hip-hop-tinged "My Time" and the vintage funk of "I Made It." But as support slots with acts as varied as James Brown, Green Day, and Fugees would suggest, Soul Rebels Brass Band aren't exactly a traditional jazz band. This fusion of contemporary and classic doesn't always quite come off. An instrumental version of Stevie Wonder's "Living for the City" turns the Motown standard into a chaotic and self-indulgent marching band number, while the corny "Showtime" sounds like the Village People fronting the theme tune to a corny '70s soap opera. But for the most part, it's difficult not to be enamored by the impressive musicianship on board, whether it's the tight percussion on a rendition of Lee Dorsey's "Night People," the squealing sax solos on "I'm So Confused," or the funky guitar licks of pure party opener "504," while the likes of the Meters' Leo Nocentelli and Cyril Neville, the latter of whom contributes to the album's highlight, a ska-fused reworking of the Staple Singers' title track, help further establish the band's authenticity. It's hard to shake the feeling that Soul Rebels Brass Band are probably a much more captivating experience live than they are on record, but Unlock Your Mind is a decent attempt to capture some of their renowned carnival atmosphere.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/31/2012
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661911727
catalogNumber: 619117
Rank: 130574


  1. 504
  2. Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)
  3. Turn It Up
  4. My Time
  5. Unlock Your Mind
  6. We Gon' Take Your Body
  7. Night People
  8. I'm So Confused
  9. Showtime
  10. Say Na Hey
  11. I Made It
  12. Living for the City
  13. Let Your Mind Be Free

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Soul Rebels   Primary Artist
Paul Robertson   Trombone,Vocals,Soloist
Lumar LeBlanc   Percussion,Vocals,Snare Drums
Derrick Moss   Percussion,Vocals,Contrabass Drum
Cyril Neville   Vocals
Leo Nocentelli   Guitar
Ben Ellman   Baritone Saxophone,Soloist
Sean C.   Vocals
Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews   Trombone,Soloist
Dwayne Williams   Conga
Julian Gosin   Percussion,Trumpet,Vocals,Background Vocals,Rap,Soloist
Erion Williams   Tenor Saxophone,Vocals,Soloist
Marcus Hubbard   Trumpet,Vocals,Soloist
Edward Lee   Percussion,Sousaphone,Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Corey Peyton   Percussion,Trombone,Vocals,Choir, Chorus,Rap,Soloist

Technical Credits

Annie Lennox   Composer
George Jackson   Composer
Byron Bernard   Composer
Scott Billington   Producer
Mervin Campbell   Composer
Damion Francois   Composer
Lumar LeBlanc   Composer
Derrick Moss   Composer
Leo Nocentelli   Composer,Guitar Producer
Steve Reynolds   Engineer
Dave Stewart   Composer
Allen Toussaint   Composer
Rev. Curtis Watson   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Geoffrey Himes   Liner Notes
Larry Chambers   Composer
Adam Shipley   Executive Producer,Management
Ted Kurland   Executive Producer,Management,Booking
Larissa Collins   Art Direction
Steve Johnson   Composer
Julian Gosin   Composer
Marcus Hubbard   Composer
Sean Thomas Carey   Composer
Edward Lee   Composer
Corey Peyton   Composer

Customer Reviews