Unleashed Beyond

Unleashed Beyond

by SkilletSkillet

CD(Special Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 16


Skillet's tenth LP, Unleashed, continues the journey that began on 2003's tonal shift Collide. The Nashville-based Christian band has always set itself apart from the CCM masses -- touring with secular hard rock bands and drawing huge festival crowds -- while sustaining an undying message of positivity and hope. Unleashed is aptly titled: two decades into their existence, Skillet have made their biggest album yet, an explosion of bombast and scope that draws on mainstream influences without wavering from their wholesome values. With contributions from Brian Howes (Halestorm, Daughtry), Kevin Churko (Disturbed, Five Finger Death Punch), Neal Avron (Linkin Park, Fall Out Boy), and Seth Mosley (Newsboys, TobyMac), Unleashed is also Skillet's most polished effort. Korey Cooper and Seth Morrison's riffs maintain the energy at caffeine-highs, while Jen Ledger's drumming pounds with precision intensity. Vocalist and sole founding member John Cooper holds everything together with a full-bodied delivery and consistently strategic lyrics that are subtle enough to please fans of any faith. The best moments on Unleashed are high-octane turbo blasts like "Feel Invincible," "Undefeated," and "Out of Hell," churning tracks that echo the fury of Muse or even, on the latter, Slipknot. They even borrow directly from Orgy's cover of "Blue Monday" on the bouncing "Burn It Down." Cooper's vocal interplay with his wife Korey and Ledger adds a brightness and cohesion similar to the best moments on 2009's Awake. Meanwhile, the orchestration and gravity that infused the Evanescence-lite Comatose layers stadium anthems like "I Want to Live" and the epic closer "The Resistance." All of these heavier moments elicit purely physical responses, but there are also breaks to pause and contemplate. Stripping back the headlong rock charge, Skillet include a few purely praise & worship breathers like the polished Killers-synthy "Stars," the Hillsong-with-bigger-amps "Lions," and the gorgeous "Watching for Comets." Whether in a giant mosh pit or a congregation of the faithful, Skillet know how to play a crowd and Unleashed succeeds on both fronts. [In 2017 the band released a deluxe version of the album called Unleashed Beyond, which featured five unreleased tracks (including "Breaking Free," which featured ex-Flyleaf vocalist Lacey Sturm) and remixes of the tracks "Feel Invincible," "The Resistance," and "Stars."] ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 11/17/2017
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075679888396
catalogNumber: 563610
Rank: 791


  1. Feel Invincible
  2. Back From the Dead
  3. Stars
  4. I Want to Live
  5. Undefeated
  6. Famous
  7. Lions
  8. Out of Hell
  9. Burn it Down
  10. Watching for Comets
  11. Saviors of the World
  12. The Resistance
  13. Breaking Free
  14. Stay Til The Daylight
  15. Brave
  16. You Get Me High
  17. Set It Off
  18. Feel Invincible
  19. The Resistance
  20. Stars

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Skillet   Primary Artist
Antoine Silverman   Violin
Korey Cooper   Guitar,Keyboards,Group Member
Kevin Churko   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Mattias Johansson   Violin
John Cooper   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Brian Howes   Guitar,Background Vocals
Shawn McGhee   Guitar
Nalle Karlsson   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Tobias Karlsson   Keyboards
Mattias Bylund   Strings
Jason "JVP" VanPoederooyen   Keyboards
Jen Ledger   Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Dave Eggar   Cello
Seth Mosley   Guitar,Keyboards
David Bukovinszky   Cello
Kane Churko   Guitar,Background Vocals
Jerricho Scroggins   Background Vocals
Seth Morrison   Guitar,Keyboards
Mike "X." O'Connor   Guitar,Keyboards
Asa Wiggins   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Chris Lord-Alge   Engineer
Korey Cooper   Composer,Programming,String Arrangements,Bass Programming
John L. Cooper   Composer
Kevin Churko   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Jason Ingram   Composer
John Cooper   Composer
Brian Howes   Composer,Producer
Shawn McGhee   Pro-Tools
Mark Obriski   Art Direction
Mia Fieldes   Composer
Nalle Karlsson   Composer,Vocal Arrangements,String Arrangements
Tobias Karlsson   Composer,Programming,Producer
Zachary Kelm   Executive Producer
Mattias Bylund   String Arrangements
Jason "JVP" VanPoederooyen   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Dave Eggar   String Arrangements,String Section Leader
Nick Rad   Engineer
Seth Mosley   Composer,Programming,Producer,Bass Programming
Sam Tinnesz   Composer
Lacey Sturm   Engineer
Rob Gold   Art Manager
Kane Churko   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Chuck Palmer   Arranger
Jerricho Scroggins   Engineer,Vocal Group
Seth Morrison   Programming
Nick Schwarz   Vocal Editing
Khloe Churko   Studio Manager
Adam Chagnon   Engineer
Mike "X." O'Connor   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Johnny Nick   Engineer
Nick Lewkowski   Vocal Group
Sarah Blackbuurn   Vocal Group

Customer Reviews