Union [Special European Release]

Union [Special European Release]

by YesYes

CD(Bonus Tracks)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


With the exception of Peter Banks and Trevor Horn, virtually all the major contributors to Yes in its various incarnations over the previous 23 years, including both of its drummers, threw their hands into the making of Union, which was supported by a massive tour that filled arenas with at least two generations of fans. So even if Union had been as good as one hoped, this was an album that couldn't possibly have met the expectations inherent in the array of talent involved. The material is reasonably solid, and under ordinary circumstances this album would have been considered just fine, if not exceptional. "I Would Have Waited Forever" shows off the group's vocalizing (by Chris Squire and Jon Anderson) at its most melodic and Steve Howe has one of the most beautiful classical guitar showcases of his Yes career on "Masquerade." But the Trevor Rabin/Chris Squire-composed "Lift Me Up" seems a forced exercise in heaviness, and "Without Hope You Cannot Start" seems more like a composed-by-numbers piece than a truly inspired song. None of the material here would rate alongside the better (forget the best) tracks from any of the group's 1971-1974 albums. Perhaps the defects revealed the real purpose of this album, which wasn't so much to make a definitive statement by any of the participants, but rather to show the flag of the reunited band, which it did. The single "Lift Me Up" topped Billboard's Album Rock Tracks chart for six weeks, with two other cuts also making the list. But the single also only limped to number 86 on the Hot 100, and although the album shot to number 15 and went gold, this was a serious falloff from previous sales. ~ Bruce Eder & William Ruhlmann

Product Details

Release Date: 04/22/1991
Label: Bmg Int'l
UPC: 4007192615582
catalogNumber: 192615
Rank: 44462

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Yes   Primary Artist
Rick Wakeman   Vocals,Multi Instruments
Jon Anderson   Vocals,Multi Instruments
Bill Bruford   Vocals,Multi Instruments
Steve Howe   Vocals,Multi Instruments
Trevor Rabin   Vocals,Multi Instruments
Chris Squire   Vocals,Multi Instruments
Ian Lloyd   Vocals
Alan White   Vocals,Multi Instruments
Deborah Anderson   Vocals
Richard Baker   Synthesizer
Gary Barlough   Synthesizer
Jim Crichton   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Jonathan Elias   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Vocals
Gary Falcone   Vocals
Brian Foraker   Synthesizer
Tommy Funderburk   Vocals
Rory Kaplan   Synthesizer
Tony Kaye   Vocals,Multi Instruments
Tony Levin   Bass
Steve Porcaro   Synthesizer
Allan Schwartzberg   Percussion
Jimmy Haun   Guitar
Alex Lasarenko   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Michael Sherwood   Vocals
Danny Vaughn   Vocals
Jerry Bennett   Synthesizer,Percussion
Sherman Foote   Synthesizer
Chris Fosdick   Synthesizer

Technical Credits

Steve Howe   Producer,Engineer
Trevor Rabin   Producer,Engineer
Roger Dean   Artwork,Paintings
Jonathan Elias   Producer
Brian Foraker   Engineer
Mark Mancina   Programming,Producer
Eddy Offord   Producer
Billy Sherwood   Producer,Engineer
Carolyn Quan   Art Direction
Buzz Burrowes   Engineer
Chris Fosdick   Engineer
Kai Krause   Artwork

Customer Reviews