Unfamiliar Moon

Unfamiliar Moon

by Vance GilbertVance Gilbert


$17.70 $17.99 Save 2% Current price is $17.7, Original price is $17.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Vance Gilbert doesn't like to be tied down to one subject or style, so one can't really pigeonhole him as a singer/songwriter on Unfamiliar Moon. It would be easy, nonetheless, to get that impression as the album opens. "Ten Thousand Skies" paints a gentle, impressionistic sketch while "Leaving Avon" is a lengthy story-song about leaving a familiar place behind. Halfway through the album, though, Gilbert delivers the slow, jazzy "Unforgivable," backed by a pleasant piano, a thick bass, and light brushwork. The song has a classic feel to it, the kind of song Nat King Cole might've sung. "That Front Porch Song," on the other hand, delves into blues and gospel (complete with the line, "I just wanna jump up and sing/ Thank you Lord"), while the last two pieces on Unfamiliar Moon qualify as protest songs. The first, "I've Got a Plane," tells the odd tale -- to a country and western beat -- of a pilot who refuses to land the plane until there is peace on earth. The latter song, "Alone Down Here," is more subtle and vague in its message, returning to the impressionistic style of the opening cut. For those who enjoy singer/songwriters, Gilbert has quite a lot to offer, but for those who want a little something extra with their navel gazing, Unfamiliar Moon should fit the bill.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2005
Label: Gadfly
UPC: 0786851033021
catalogNumber: 4
Rank: 101827

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Vance Gilbert   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Duke Levine   Electric Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Lorne Entress   Percussion,Drums
Amy Malkoff   Background Vocals,Group Member
John McGann   Mandolin,Lap Steel Guitar
Michael Rivard   Bass
Tom West   Organ,Piano
Tom Eaton   Percussion,Accordion,Tambourine
Susan Levine   Vocals,Background Vocals
All About Bufords   Group
Sassy Bridge   Vocals
Ben Johnson   Group Member

Technical Credits

Vance Gilbert   Composer
Tom Eaton   Engineer

Customer Reviews