Under American Skies

Under American Skies

by Tom PaxtonTom Paxton


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


Tom Paxton reunites with one-time collaborator Anne Hills for this album of largely political folk, which includes such evergreens as "Carry It On," "Birmingham Sunday" (about the racially motivated 1963 church bombing), "God Bless the Grass," and Paxton's own "Clarissa Jones." Also on the program are a few later compositions, most notably Tom Russell's "Manzanar," about the treatment of Japanese-Americans during World War II, and the title cut, a comment on the death penalty that represents the album's only songwriting collaboration by Paxton and Hills. The singing is impeccable and the songs are first-rate, but the performances are mostly so faithful to the originals that they don't add much. In addition, while the social commentary is balanced by an occasional love song, it would have helped to also sprinkle in some of the humor that Paxton employs so well on his solo albums; as is, this is pretty consistently somber stuff. Still, Paxton and Hills deserve plaudits for helping to keep the political folk genre alive; it's too bad that more writers aren't addressing the sorts of issues tackled here.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/24/2001
Label: Appleseed Records
UPC: 0611587105226
catalogNumber: 1052
Rank: 107362


  1. There Goes the Mountain
  2. Under the American Skies
  3. Follow That Road
  4. Clarrissa Jones
  5. Birmingham Sunday
  6. Carry It On
  7. God Bless the Grass
  8. Manzanar
  9. Getting Up Early
  10. Well, Well, Well
  11. Pandora's Box
  12. Shadow Crossing the Land
  13. Links in the Chain
  14. And Lovin' You

Album Credits

Customer Reviews