Unchained Melodies

Unchained Melodies

by Royal Philharmonic OrchestraRoyal Philharmonic Orchestra


$14.64 $14.99 Save 2% Current price is $14.64, Original price is $14.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


The follow-up to A Love So Beautiful features Roy Orbison vocal performances with brand-new orchestral arrangements by The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, recorded at Abbey Road Studios

Additional accompaniment from Roy’s three sons and backing vocals from their wives and children

That haunting voice, that unique look, those uplifting and emotional songs-there is only one Roy Orbison, and fans once again get to hear him in a new way on Unchained Melodies: Roy Orbison with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

This new album (the follow-up to last year’s A Love So Beautiful: Roy Orbison with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra) infuses 14 of Orbison’s original vocal performances (both greatest hits and deep cuts selected with fan input) with the emotion and world-class musicianship of London’s most beloved orchestra, as heard on the international hit albums If I Can Dream: Elvis Presley with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and The Wonder of You: Elvis Presley with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

Working once again at the world-famous Abbey Road Studios, returning producers Nick Patrick and Don Reedman add elegant and spirited arrangements to accompany some of the most beloved gems from Orbison’s career-not only singles like “Blue Bayou,” “The Crowd” and “Crawling Back,” but fan favorites like “Heartbreak Radio” plus “California Blue,” “Danny Boy” and “Walk On,” three tracks that were included after Roy’s estate reached out to fans for their feedback.

Additionally, the album will feature instrumental backing from “Roy’s boys”: his three sons Wesley, Roy Jr. (on guitars) and Alex (playing drums). The album also features backing vocals on eight tracks from the “Orbison girls”: Emily Orbison (Wesley’s daughter), Jen Hicks (Wesley’s fiancé), Åsa Orbison (Roy Jr.’s wife) and Erika Wolf Orbison (Alex’s wife - their forthcoming daughter kicks along to the beat as well). Tracks like “Unchained Melody” and “Heartbreak Radio” feature as many as eight Orbisons, counting Roy himself.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/16/2018
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0190758770024
catalogNumber: 587700
Rank: 36445


  1. Unchained Melody
  2. Blue Bayou
  3. She's a Mystery to Me
  4. Heartbreak Radio
  5. Falling
  6. Walk On
  7. The Great Pretender
  8. The Crowd
  9. The Comedians
  10. Crawling Back
  11. Danny Boy
  12. Too Soon to Know
  13. Careless Heart
  14. California Blue
  15. Heartbreak Radio

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra   Primary Artist,Performing Ensemble
Roy Orbison   Percussion,Vocals
Richard Harvey   Celtic Pipe
Rick Vito   Guitar
Paul Franklin   Pedal Steel Guitar
Nick Patrick   Keyboards
Steve Pearce   Bass
Don Reedman   Keyboards
Ralph Salmins   Drums
Steve Sidwell   Conductor
Robin Smith   Conductor
Jeffrey Foskett   Background Vocals
John Parricelli   Guitar
Chris Walden   Trumpet
Pete Murray   Piano
Alex Orbison   Drums
Wesley Orbison   Guitar,Background Vocals
Roy Orbison   Guitar
Emily Orbison   Background Vocals
Patty Matterson   Background Vocals
Jen Hicks   Background Vocals
Erika Orbison   Background Vocals
Bo Orbison   Tambourine
Asa Orbison   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Don Gibson   Composer
Elvis Costello   Composer
Jeff Lynne   Composer
Roy Orbison   Composer
Tom Petty   Composer
Rob Mounsey   Orchestral Arrangements
Albert Hammond   Composer
Buck Ram   Composer
Troy Seals   Composer
Edge   Composer
Haydn Bendall   Engineer
Bono   Composer
Simon Hanhart   Engineer
Sally Herbert   Orchestral Arrangements
Alex North   Composer
Barbara Orbison   Director
Nick Patrick   Programming,Producer
Don Reedman   Programming,Producer,Liner Notes
Robin Smith   Orchestral Arrangements
Diane Warren   Composer
Hy Zaret   Composer
Jeffrey Foskett   Vocal Arrangements
Chris Walden   Orchestral Arrangements
Bill Dees   Composer
Joe Melson   Composer
Jeff Larson   Engineer
David Campbell   Orchestral Arrangements
Jeffrey Schulberg   Music Business Affairs
Frederick Edward Weatherly   Composer
Peter Schwier   Engineer
Alex Orbison   Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Johnathan Elliott   Art Direction
Cameron Davidson   Engineer
Chuck Fleckenstein   Executive Producer
Wesley Orbison   Executive Producer
Cam   Vocal Arrangements
Dominic Ferris   Orchestral Arrangements
Roy Orbison   Executive Producer
Nick Lobel   Engineer
Roy's Boys   Executive Producer
Frankie Miller   Composer
Elwin Hendrijanto   Orchestral Arrangements
Erika Orbison   Vocal Arrangements

Customer Reviews