Una Más

Una Más

by Afrobop AllianceAfrobop Alliance


$15.56 $16.99 Save 8% Current price is $15.56, Original price is $16.99. You Save 8%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Una Más is an outstanding set of Latin jazz from the D.C. area's finest Latin big band. The band makes use of surprisingly complex arrangements of largely new compositions, both Latin pieces transformed into somewhat jazzier arrangements (as in the opening "Golpe de Cumaco") and jazz pieces given a Latin flavor (as in main arranger Vince Norman's "El Otoño"). Rounded out with a few Latinized classic pieces from the likes of Cal Tjader and Benny Golson, the band swings strongly through a variety of Afro-bop, post-bop, and modern Latin jazz realms. The key here isn't just in the arrangements, though. It's in the performances, with the group displaying much of what separates a modern big band from a classic-styled big band -- an ability to create large-scale fanfares and harmonies as a group, but to back down and allow long solos to shine. It's in those solos -- those periods of contrapuntal wanderings, those blasts of brass that punctuate the bridges -- that the band really shines. They work together closely, but when they combine their power, and especially their brass, for both explosions and explorations, they find a special sort of ground.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/20/2011
Label: Oa2
UPC: 0805552208627
catalogNumber: 22086
Rank: 122281

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Afrobop Alliance   Primary Artist
Chris Walker   Trumpet
Tim Murphy   Piano,Soloist
Mike Pope   Bass,Soloist
David Samuels   Marimbas,Vibes,Soloist
Andy Axelrad   Alto Saxophone
Jeff Cortazzo   Trombone
Luis Hernández   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Alex Norris   Trumpet,Soloist
Joe McCarthy   Drums,Bells,Soloist,Timbaleiro
Ben Patterson   Trombone,Soloist
Steve Williams   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Joe Jackson   Trombone,Soloist
Darryl Brenzel   Baritone Saxophone
Vince Norman   Baritone Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Greg Reese   Trumpet
Tim Stanley   Trumpet,Soloist
Harry Appelman   Piano,Soloist
Roberto Quintero   Percussion,Conga,Soloist
Rhoades Whitehill   Trombone

Technical Credits

Joey Calderazzo   Composer
John Bishop   Cover Design,Layout
Benny Golson   Composer
Hector Martignon   Composer
Mike Pope   Arranger,Composer,Orchestration
David Samuels   Composer
Cal Tjader   Composer
Luis Perdomo   Composer,Liner Notes
Joe McCarthy   Producer
Vince Norman   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Orchestration
Marco Patino   Cover Art
Bob Dawson   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews