Ultimate Collection: The Complete Hits

Ultimate Collection: The Complete Hits

by Captain & Tennille Captain & Tennille


$11.89 $16.99 Save 30% Current price is $11.89, Original price is $16.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, January 24


Quick, who's the only woman to play with both the Beach Boys and Pink Floyd? Yup, Toni Tennille, who toured with the surf kings and sang backup on The Wall. Pretty hip for a woman who was a member of one of the '70s' hokiest acts. But that's the thing about Captain & Tennille: Their goofy image -- thanks to Darryl "The Captain" Dragon's sailor caps, silly keyboard sounds, and a vanilla TV variety show -- has always undercut their solid music. This Ultimate Collection reminds us that they made some brilliant singles, starting with the irresistibly bouncy "Love Will Keep Us Together," which has soulful vocal and manic keyboard flourishes that belie the duo's white-bread rep. The same goes for Tennille's lusty and lush "The Way I Want to Touch You," which may be the best song Dionne Warwick and Carole King never sang. The liner notes of this disc also give the world the official party line on "Muskrat Love," one of the silliest ballads to ever crack the Billboard Top 40 ("I said to Darryl, 'This song's hysterical, why don't we add to our club-act?' "). True, the domesticated duo gave us the definitive version of "The Wedding Song (There Is Love)," a matrimonial standard by Paul Stookey (of Peter, Paul & Mary) that has become something of a cliché. But with lite-delights like "You Never Done It Like That" and "Do That to Me One More Time," Captain & Tennille deserve to be remembered for what they really were: two of AM radio's top blue-eyed soulsters.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/22/2001
Label: Hip-O Records
UPC: 0731452090126
catalogNumber: 520901
Rank: 52720


  1. Love Will Keep Us Together
  2. The Way I Want to Touch You
  3. Disney Girl
  4. I Write the Songs
  5. Lonely Night (Angel Face)
  6. Shop Around
  7. Muskrat Love
  8. Wedding Song (There Is Love)
  9. Song of Joy
  10. Can't Stop Dancing
  11. Come in from the Rain
  12. Circles
  13. I'm on My Way
  14. You Never Done It Like That
  15. You Need a Woman Tonight
  16. Do That to Me One More Time
  17. Love on a Shoestring
  18. Happy Together (A Fantasy)
  19. Gentle Stranger
  20. Keeping Our Love Warm
  21. We Never Really Say Goodbye
  22. Por Amor Viviremos

Album Credits

Customer Reviews