by Julian Casablancas & the VoidzJulian Casablancas & the Voidz


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 18


As the Strokes' music became more regimented, Julian Casablancas' work outside the band became more unpredictable. His solo debut Phrazes for the Young -- which arrived shortly before the Strokes' polished comeback Angles -- was fascinating in its freewheeling disregard for stylistic boundaries, pop song lengths, and anything that came too close to the work of his band. Tyranny follows the Strokes' meticulously crafted 2013 album Comedown Machine, and working with his new band the Voidz, Casablancas pushed himself to make something even more uncompromising than Phrazes. Drawing inspiration from his love of classic hardcore punk like Black Flag and his frustration with 21st century politics, he crafts songs that veer between sludgy thrashing and murky synth noodling. There are flashes of brilliance on almost every track, like "Father Electricity"'s wild percussion and tropical guitar, the Middle Eastern leanings of "Dare I Care"'s melody and rhythms, or "Xerox"'s loping hip-hop beat and keyboards. Casablancas remains a remarkably charismatic singer and gifted melodicist, and these assets shine on "Nintendo Blood"'s gritty synth pop and the punky "Where No Eagles Fly." Then there's the 11-minute "Human Sadness," which, despite its massive length, is the album's most accessible, memorable song thanks to the emotion in Casablancas' processed vocalizing, which bridges the track's shifts from retro synths to glistening riffs.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2014
Label: Cult Records
UPC: 5060186923918
catalogNumber: 17
Rank: 32207


  1. Take Me In Your Army
  2. Crunch Punch
  3. M.utally A.ssured D.estruction
  4. Human Sadness
  5. Where No Eagles Fly
  6. Father Electricity
  7. Johan Von Bronx
  8. Business Dog
  9. Xerox
  10. Dare I Care
  11. Nintendo Blood
  12. Off To War...

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Julian Casablancas & the Voidz   Primary Artist
Amir Yaghmai   Guitar,Group Member
Julian Casablancas   Vocals,Group Member
Jeramy Gritter   Guitar,Group Member
Alex Carapetis   Drums,Group Member
Jake Bercovici   Synthesizer,Bass,Group
Jeff Kite   Keyboards,Group Member

Technical Credits

Julian Casablancas   Composer
Jeramy Gritter   Composer
Shawn Everett   Producer,Engineer
Warren Fu   Artwork
Alex Carapetis   Composer
Jake Bercovici   Composer
Liz Hirsch   Artwork
Julian Casablancas & the Voidz   Arranger
Sam Adoquei   Cover Art
Ryan Fagman   Engineer

Customer Reviews